Families logo

Memorial Day Massacre

Barbeques will never be the same.

By Seaira Ector-ComerPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1
My Beloved...

There's nothing like the smell of charcoal burning on the grill on Memorial Day. This is a day that families get together and honor those who died in battle for our beautiful country through celebration and togetherness. Nothing brings people together like barbeque and sunshine. The Memorial Day of 2015 is one that I won't likely forget, and even the sunshine, great food, and family couldn't bring joy to the memory of this day.

The big kids slept over my mother's house the night before, and my husband and I were left only with our 6 month old daughter, Genesis. I slept in a little longer than my husband, Lamar, due to pregnancy fatigue. We had another little one on the way only months after Genesis was born. I was awakened by a cold sensation to my legs, and I realized that Lamar was using my legs to warm his feet cold feet. "Get your cold feet off me!" I exclaimed. He laughed and told me it was time to get up anyway. As I looked at the clock, and realized that it was almost noon, I finally got up to get our day started. I got the baby dressed first after Lamar picked her clothes, and then I found myself an outfit that didn't make me look too pregnant (in my mind).

As I put on my makeup, Lamar sat at the edge of the bed and stared at me. "You're the most beautiful woman I've ever seen," he said. I instantly felt more confident and not quite as fat. He then suggested that he go to his uncle's house to see some of his family before stopping at my mother's house. I had an obligation to be at my mom's house because our other three children were already there waiting for me. I agreed that Lamar should stop and see his family, and I would go to the other side of town to my family's home to help prepare for Memorial Day.

My mom was devastated when Genesis and I came in the house without Lamar. He is the grill master in the family, and she was disappointed that he wouldn't be on the grill this time. As we prepared the food, Lamar sent a series of text messages with cute emojicons, expressing his love for me. He always knew how to make me feel good, and I was convinced I had the best life ever. Beautiful children and a husband that adored me, who could ask for more?

Lamar informed me that his uncle placed him on grill duty, and he would probably just meet me and the children back at the house. I was a little disappointed because I cherish our time together. After all, family is the most important aspect of my life. As I enjoyed great conversation and quality time with my sisters and mom, I began to feel a ache in my heart as my sister started telling us about the amount of shootings that occurred in Indianapolis over Memorial Day weekend. I was devastated to find out that eight people had been shot in my city within the past two days.

It was starting to get late, and my husband sent me a text message at 9:46 PM and let me know that he would be on his way to the house. I told him that I would be on my way to meet him there. The children and I got home before Lamar did, so I got them ready for bed and continued to wait. I was getting anxious because I hadn't seen him all day, and I'd missed him. I didn't want to be a nag and tell him to hurry up, so I figured I'd be patient.

As 11:00 PM approached, I began to feel that he was taking too long, but I knew how much he enjoyed being with his uncle, so I didn't want to spoil it for him with any bickering. As I continued to wait patiently, I heard banging on the front door. I looked out the window to see who was at the door, but it was very dark, and all I could see was three unusual cars parked in front of my home. I didn't answer because I didn't recognize the cars.

The banging only persisted, so I suddenly became slightly frightened. I finally sent a text message to my husband, and I informed him that someone was banging on the door. I also let him know that I was frightened, and he needed to hurry home. He never texted back.

My husband is not the type of man that would allow me to be afraid without coming to the rescue, so when he didn't respond, I immediately panicked. I finally decided to open the door because the people at the door were clearly not going to stop banging. As I opened the door, I saw two men at the door and a woman. I finally noticed that the woman was someone who I'd seen with my husband's friend Otis.

"Have you heard anything about your husband?" she asked in a panicky tone. I asked her what was going on, and she explained that Otis had a fight with her husband. She told me that she was looking for her daughter who was in the car with Otis, as her husband chased Otis down in a high speed chase. She explained that Otis led her husband to the barbeque that my husband was, and she believed that someone had been shot.

My heart dropped to the floor because my husband still had not responded to my message. She stated that she was unaware who had been shot, but I could tell that there was something that she wasn't telling me. I let her know that I had no knowledge of any of it until that moment.

I went in the house after she left and immediately turned on the news. I saw that two men had been shot. One killed and the other in critical condition. They did not release names yet, but they referred to the weekend as "The Memorial Day Massacre" because this was the ninth person that had been killed in the past two days. I felt completely empty. It was like I knew that something was extremely wrong.

I woke up the kids, and got them dressed. I packed all of my children into the car and headed back to my mother's house to drop them off. I asked my sister to ride with me to my husband's uncle's house. As I got to his uncle's home, all I saw was police and ambulance lights. There lie my husband...dead and bleeding. I was immediately sick. I didn't know why or how it could be possible. My husband doesn't have enemies, and he is a responsible, kind, compassionate, and loving man.

I later learned that he was shot because his friend Otis was dating the woman that brought me the bad news. Otis was afraid because her husband was following him, so he went to the barbeque where my husband was, and my husband was shot as soon as he came out the door. My husband was murdered because of an affair that had absolutely nothing to do with him. Today marks the fifth year since I lost him. My two youngest children never got to know him. The three oldest miss him and still talk about him everyday. Life will never be the same.

R.I.P. Lamar.

grief
1

About the Creator

Seaira Ector-Comer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.