Families logo

Marriage

25 years and still going

By Terri RosallPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Marriage
Photo by Beatriz Pérez Moya on Unsplash

On February17, 2021 my husband and I celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.

It has been a long road worth traveling as a couple.

My first marriage didn't last long and I was afraid to get remarried.

But a man stole my heart and has had it for 25 years.

This marriage is a special one because it would be his first one.

This man waited for a long time like 45 years to fine the right one to marry. Yes that right I was the one to be his wife.

We have had our up and down along the way.

We had trouble with having a child which would be early. Our son will be 24 years old this coming August.

Another bump in the road would be the lost of his mother in our marriage. We look back on things that she told us how to make this marriage work.

The words we still use to this day. We thank her for teaching us those words.

My husband would be let go from this job and I would have major surgeries along the way in our marriage.

Now to the happy side of the marriage. We make sure that we go away for our wedding anniversary. We have been many places like Disney World, Disneyland and other places also.

We had one major move to a new state. We move to Florida.

There was like many years of his, her and us to pack up and a lot to be pack up to go Florida. A lot of memories.

Sentences started with do you remember when you and I did this and how fun it was to do it together.

This year for the big one! It was 25 years of marriage and a year of Covid-19 and masking up. We went to St. Augustine, Florida it was a much needed a time out.

We were like kids and was like another honeymoon for us. It was such a joy to just to get out of the house once more.

On Father's Day this year is another trip for to act like kids with are going to Daytona Beach to see a baseball game. It happens to be my husband favorite team but their minor league team. GO REDS. I think would think of it was our third honeymoon in 25 years of marriage.

I think that is what makes a married work. You have to take time for each other. Do things that you both like to do.

It does help to help to have two televisions in the house aka the "Man's Cave". Specially when one need their own time out or cool down from long day of out and both.

A marriage is like a two way street not a one way. You have to agree to meet in the middle with you have disagreement with each.

A marriage take works if you are willing to be in the work it will work believe me. Remember that the first one didn't work out.

I think that I was meant to meet my husband. I am glad that I did meet him. I can't believe that we are going on to 26 year of our marriage. Wow!! We like rock stars of marriages. You do see that now a days.

We take time for each other and work things out when they need to be worked out.

You have to have two in a marriage not one of person running the show. It won't work if you don't have the two working together. I had one marriage not workout because of this.

Marriage is like work 24/7 days and 365 a day to work.

married
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.