Families logo

Making a Snow Angel And Other Fun In December In Minnesota, In A Small Little Town!

Did you make them as a kid? I did and continued to for many years. I can't imagine doing that now as I couldn't get up or down!

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 3 min read
3
A video that I clipped a picture of! Not my best photography or editing. A snow angel!

It is snow, even though it looks like a picnic tablecloth in the photo.

The video looks like she is having a great time making a snow angel and in the video, it really does look like a snow angel.

Growing up in Minnesota there were always snow angels. We would look for a clean spot in the yard and fall backward to create the best snow angel of all the rest!

The picture above is of my granddaughter. She is an only child and her parents love spending time with her outdoors. They are going to see Santa tonight and going out for eats.

The only winged angels I saw growing up were snow angels and angels in school plays. The only devils in horns I saw were at Halloween. And they were barely 3 feet tall and standing in the hall waiting for treats.

By Gabriel Tovar on Unsplash

Here are two better photos of snow angels! And of course, I didn't take them! I will bet they will have some help getting up so as not to wreck the set!

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

My family is not getting together for the Holidays as some of us got together before Thanksgiving for our meal. Then we are getting together after Christmas for our Christmas together deal. That is what can happen when your children have families of their own.

And where your children have other parents when they are grown. Parents that are no longer living together. In other words, divorced parents will have separate get-togethers.

When my mother was living as an adult, if I didn't spend Christmas at her house, then we did as soon as we could fit it in. Sometimes it meant going to the in-laws and my mother's house on the same day for a meal. To both places, we would take a spin.

I was lucky to have such a great cook in my mother, and my mothers-in-law were good cooks also. I thought that meant I didn't need to be and so...

I kind of wish I would have practiced anyway. Who would have thought they would all be gone one day?

I did learn to make ice cream with snow. Much fun after a day of sledding.

When I was a child, we made ice cream after we went sledding on an old car hood! We had big cousins that would pull it back up the big hill! Well, it seemed big to me, and still...

The last time I went sledding, not that many years ago, the saucer I was on took me on a ride I don't want to repeat as did I ever go!

And I turned up facing backward and in the ditch! I suppose it could have been worse. What a b----!

Then there is ice skating. I was never great, but always did skate! My siblings did too. Then my children were hockey players, and I still have one that is playing hockey at forty-two!

We would downhill ski and had a season pass at spirit mountain, that we could afford. Four of us would ski and the other rode a snowboard.

Then there was winter camping until someone couldn't thaw out! It wasn't me and it wasn't the kids I wanted to shout!

My hubby now talks about sleeping out in the great outdoors. He won't get me to do that! We are 68 and 72 and I wonder if he is getting senile and is he safe to leave our doors.

He heard of a woman sleeping in her car. He talked about her having a good sleeping bag. There is no car or no sleeping bag that I will sleep in, no matter the weather, so far!

I enjoy movies, going out to eat, meeting up with family and getting together with friends in all kinds of weather. And when it is the coldest outside, I start thinking about riding my motorcycle and putting on leather!

childrengrandparentsparents
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    This is full of fun and the pictures are great

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.