Families logo

Magic in a Box

The Secret Within

By Rebecca TaylorPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Magic in a Box
Photo by Katie Azi on Unsplash

I am magical and can see everything that is happening around me, both inside of this box and on the outside. That’s how come I can tell you this story with certainty. Only me and the woman who wrapped this box and put a special gift in it know what I’m hiding. It’s fun to be able to keep a magical secret once in a while. The gift that I’m keeping safe is extremely special because it is a one-of-a-kind artistic creation. That means I’m the only gift box in the world that will ever have the chance to see someone open this particular gift.

If you promise not to tell anyone, I can let you know about the special gift that I’m holding. It is well packaged with bubble wrapping, and then with tissue paper that has multicoloured sparkles on it. The gift is a painting done by Melissa Morgan. She is the woman who wrapped me to look so beautiful. Equal care went into creating such a thoughtful gift as in wrapping it up. I am wrapped in a beautiful double-sided wrapping paper. The pattern has tiny Christmas trees and snowflakes on it. There are red ribbons tied around the box and Melissa took such care to curl the ends of them with a pair of scissors to make them extra magical.

The day that Melissa tied the handmade gift tag onto the ribbon and placed me under the tree, she broke down sobbing. I know this isn’t the typical response when you’re giving someone a gift. But you see the painting is for Melissa’s daughter Meredith. Meredith is currently serving in the Armed Forces and is supposed to be making it home for Christmas. Meredith’s father, Melissa’s husband passed away shortly before Meredith headed off on her second tour of duty. Meredith and Melissa were both crushed that Ronald Morgan had passed too soon from a heart related illness.

Before Meredith left on her tour of duty, she encouraged her mother to find a hobby which could help give her some hope. Meredith and Melissa communicated as often as they were able, but communication was often spotty depending on where Meredith was overseas. But every time that Melissa went about her newfound hobby, she thought of her daughter and tried to keep on, doing as much good as she could in her part of the world.

Melissa took up painting as her hobby. One of those paintings was the one that was wrapped up so securely within me. It was an abstract of one of Meredith’s favorite places – the beach. Melissa had even gone to the local beach that she, Meredith, and Ronald had used to frequent often and gathered some sand. Melissa had mixed grains of the sand in with the paint that she used to create her work of art.

Sometimes Melissa wondered if her artwork was any good. But she was enjoying it and decided that it was the point. She knew that Meredith would enjoy the gift, not necessarily because of what it was but for what it represented. The tears that Melissa cried as she placed me under the tree, were about so many different things. I cannot wait for Meredith to come home and spend a few weeks with her mother. I am looking forward to her opening me up and discovering the amazing work of art that Melissa has created.

Even though Melissa has doubts about her artistic talents, I do not. As I hold onto the painting, the precious cargo that is wrapped up so tightly and with love, I feel so many emotions because I’m not just an ordinary gift box. This Christmas I’m going to be so much more.

art
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Taylor

Rebecca Rose Taylor is a freelance writer and author. She has published two novellas (The Moderna Way, and The Heart's Way) and two children's stories (Finding My Blue Ribbon Pet, and The Magical Chicken Egg).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.