Families logo

Love You Forever

A Bedtime Story Worth Reading

By Sharon SmithPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

"I'll love you forever. I'll like you for always. As long as I'm living, my baby you'll be.". Those words hit you so differently as a child as opposed to the way you feel them while hearing them as an adult. Love You Forever, by Robert Munsch has always been my favorite bedtime story. I think what had originally drawn me in was the rhythm that you can't help but to form a flow to every time you utter aloud those very words. The more that same phrase is reiterated throughout the story, the more rhythmic it becomes. Honestly, what toddler or adolescent does not start moving to the beat of almost every song they hear. That also makes it memorable.

As soon as I was pregnant with my oldest, Michael, I bought that book. It was the only one I absolutely needed for my baby. I read it to my belly and still have it. He just turned 16. My youngest, Chase, who will be 10 soon, also had this story read to him an immeasurable amount of times. They will probably never forget that phrase either. At least I hope not. It actually is extremely powerful if you sit down and think about it.

Love You Forever sets forth the idea to your child that as long as you are alive you will always be there for them. No matter how old you may be, a parent will always see you as their "baby". I know I still see mine that way. It also sets forth the idea that in return of your mother or father being there always, you should do the same. Most people forget that part though. In the beginning they take care of you. They do it pretty much til death, but along the way, they may need some help too. With age comes health and memory issues; among other things. They may even be too stubborn to admit it, but eventually they need their child/children's help. Many don't take the time, once it is their turn to step up and do their part. Rather, they put you in a nursing home and let someone else who gets paid take care of their elderly parents. Do you really think everyone working there will be as loving with them as you would be? More than likely, no.

This book reiterates the importance of family, how we need each other, and always will. Regardless of your age, you will always need your parents. Just don't forget that they may need you too. Hopefully, you're paying attention. The problem is that society has become selfish. Not many people pay that much attention to their parents as people. They look past the red flags and take, take, take. I remember a time when your neighbors even cared what your children were doing or how your doctor appointment went. People used to care; plain and simple. Most don't anymore. Not unless there's something in it for them. This story let's you believe in the importance of a parent-child relationship again. It never hurts to have something to believe in.

If you have children, make sure they know that there isn't anything that you wouldn't do for them. Be open and honest with them and don't let pride get in the way. You need them too! Probably more than you realize. For the "children", no matter your age, check on your parents. Make sure they are okay as they are aging. Love them. Love each other. You only get one chance at this life. Make it count. Stop being so selfish. The "me, me, me" mindset that so many have adopted is all wrong.

A story that instills good morals. That is how I view this one. If you haven't heard of it, check it out. You'd be surprised at how something as small as a children's book can teach you the most valuable lessons. It did that for me and I really hope it did that for my boys as well. If nothing else is ever remembered by my children, my wish is that they know that they can always come to me with whatever and, regardless of petty arguments or anything making them second guess it, I will always be there for them. I can guarantee it.

book reviews
1

About the Creator

Sharon Smith

I have a lot to say. You'll see ...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.