Families logo

Love Letters to Anne

An Adoption Story Chapter Twenty

By Michael DeMaraisPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was on a mountain peak one day, when I was ten. I remember thinking at the time that this was as good as life will get. Me, at the mountain top. Wind in my hair and the valley stretched before me all the way to the sea.

It would be another forty years until I felt this complete again. Traveling through the viscous fluid of life in slow motion, I stumbled on until my life’s mission was completed.

I just kept going and hoping and searching until finally one day in August of 2020 I reached out to grab the ring which had always been just out of reach. It was so close, I weighed my chances and just jumped into my destiny. I just kept believing in myself to get me through to the conclusion.

And I’m still not done.

It was suggested to me that I could heal the family. My arrival bringing a healing to many that belonged to me. But more importantly, I could heal another who had the same scars from that beautiful and terrible day I arrived on the planet and was torn away from my birthright. My precious momma.

But I foiled the evil that was thrown on me. It took me fifty years, but I found her. Momma. My roots. My family tree. I was unable to really process the whole thing emotionally at times.

Imagine for a minute that you’ve just won the lottery and everything in your life changed. That’s kind of how that felt finally finding her. A dream come true. All I could do was accept the situation and let it evolve organically.

I have missed my momma my whole life. And now I found her. The planets aligned, the universe smiled and karma blessed me, blessed us.

It is extremely humbling to achieve your life goals. You can either fight for it or fight against it. But the better way, is to just accept it and let it happen. Make it happen if you have to, everything is possible if you believe.

Heaven opened up and let the sun shine down on me. I was holed up in a cage, deep in a cave. But the locks opened and the chains broke off me and suddenly, we were free of a forced bondage that damaged us so long ago and festered just beneath the surface.

Free. Unless you’ve experienced this, there is no way to help you to understand. Not fully anyway. Of course, when this story has been told to strangers the usual reaction is empathy and tears of joy at the beaming of real hope. Hope in their dreams, and a reverence for the realization of ours. It’s a wonderful story, full of the incredible healing that the manifestation brought.

So many wounds were healed. Understanding and answers that only she could give. And a weight lifted, so, I was able to forgive myself all wrong turns. And I was able to forgive the universe that I felt had wronged me. But that was all a perception in my mind. Life itself is a gift, even when the world is seemingly aligned against you.

Pure ego. If you overcome the difficulties and the doubt, keep pushing and treading on water, you will reach the shore. And there you will find a paradise of splendors. But never measure yourself by the fortunes of others.

You can’t let circumstances turn you bitter. You must master your emotions and remain calm. Even when it looks like certain doom. You haven’t hit the wall until you’ve hit the wall. Remain calm, an opening will present itself.

Let Love guide you and when you are ready, the answers reveal themselves. And joy will overtake you and you’ll laugh at the past because it’s gone. And you may even grieve a little. It’s normal to morn even a toxic situation once it ends. Those times are there to sift you, refine you and make you stronger. Remember when things are difficult, changes are coming. What change depends on how well you tune in to fate and work towards your goals.

I know, I know, it sounds so simple and cheesy but I’m telling the truth. And for the record, it wasn’t easy. These are my experiences, this is my truth. And I’m sharing with you this story that you may have hope in your own life as you reach out to achieve your goals. I’m here to tell you that you can do it. It can happen.

It has happened.

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Michael DeMarais

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.