Families logo

Love Letters to Anne

An Adoption Story Chapter Seven

By Michael DeMaraisPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

I remember when computers were first making their ways into homes, we didn't have one, but grandma did. I was never able to grasp completely the nuances of coding even then. But I knew in my heart that one day, someone would making using these easy enough for me to understand them. And then came Microsoft Windows...my patience was born out. And I took every opportunity to learn computers.

The Internet intrigued me. If everything and everyone could be connected, then I might use the amazing computing power to the end of finding my family. I found adoption boards and databases of dates and times and places...I filled out something in just about every database or log I could find, I was searching, but I was also leaving breadcrumbs to be found as well. I spent long hours at the library looking up ways to find missing people, but nothing I learned got me any closer to finding my family.

Then a new technology made its way into the public sphere: DNA testing. I figured I would watch this as it had a potential I could exploit perhaps...And wait I did. All the while, visiting the adoption boards and databases.

Then, one year, I got an idea. If I could get my information verified at the agency office I had the number for, I could hire someone potentially to hack the intranet and steal what should rightfully be mine. The information to my birthright. I just needed to socially engineer this information somehow. I called and said who I was and why I was calling, and could she please verify for me if they even still have my information as I had heard about a fire and records being lost. Under such and such a name perhaps? Yes? Excellent. I am looking to being in the area soon and could you keep that info close by so I can makes arrangements to come pick it up?

You see, with these people, if you have the money, you have the access.

Well, I just needed a black hat now to get to the website and break through to the intranet behind the firewall and router. This is pretty basic hacking stuff. I shopped on the dark web...I set up a mail box and sent out requests for the job and got a few answers actually, why yes, this would be easy. Half now, the other half when I have the uncorrupted download. Paid in Bitcoin.

I rather was ready to do this thing, but I waited and decided to try one more thing: the DNA tests. I chose the platform based on popularity and size, I would cast as wide a net as I could at first and then draw that net closer. Failing this, I would go the hacking route. I didn't care if it was illegal. That information is mine and there's no way you or anyone else has the right to keep me from it. I would not be denied.

So I got the test. I sent it off, and I waited...and waited, until I started getting hits on people five and six times removed from me, potentially distant cousins of forgotten branches and offshoots of the tree I was looking for. The hack job was starting to appeal to me again. I had exhausted every other avenue.

Then one day, I just happen to be looking on the portal and there she is: my first cousin. This person potentially holds the key to my greatest mystery, this person potentially knows my mother as her aunt. I reach out immediately and explain who I am and what I'm doing on this site and we talk for a few days getting to know each other bit by bit, and then she disappears for about three days.

During those days I had to really think about how close I was to my goal of finding my immediate family. I would accept just about any terms that would get me to my goal.

My cousin, bless her heart, had a big hand actually in helping me, even when she didn't know she was. I was able to extrapolate her name and birthday, and from there, people associated with her, and with the approximate ages of my parents, began to use a process of elimination in her family as to who was most likely to be my parent.

I was holding the name of my mother in my hand. This woman, fit the age requirement and was definitely family as verified by my cousin and her tree. I found some remnants of associated phone numbers and tried to decide what my next move would be.

My cousin comes back online three days later after I had all this information now. She wants me to talk with an aunt and that seemed ok to me, so I did, and the end result was some more numbers that might or might not work, they weren't sure if they would since they don't talk to my mother much as there is a rift in the family.

So close now. So very, very close.

So, I decided to send a text. And I wait a day and hear nothing. I assume the number is bad, so I go to my next number.

My name is Michael DeMarais. My name used to be Donald as an infant. It was changed when I was adopted. I was born in May of 1970. I believe we are related and that you are my mother. Please call or text me as I have health related questions. Thank you, I hope this finds you well.

adoption
1

About the Creator

Michael DeMarais

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.