Families logo

Love Letters to Anne

An Adoption Story Chapter Twenty One

By Michael DeMaraisPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

A great destiny. Finding my blood. Reunification of that which was broken. This is what I believed in and fought for. But it wasn’t instant, the victory took a long time. Even after the DNA submission. It took years after that before I found my cousin. Once she started searching for her answers to a different mystery of her own, we found each other. And my door opened.

I walked right through.

The entire time this was happening, I was intent on not causing turmoil. I had no intention of turning anyones life upside down. This was important to me because I value my own peace. I didn’t want to be insensitive to the needs of these people I had never met. I was coming peacefully. And whatever else may happen would happen organically and unfold in its own way.

Then for three days, the line was silent. I thought about why this may have been, and I figured that this event was enough to give pause. So I waited.

Again the doubts came…was I doing the right thing? What if I was some shameful secret? My cousin didn’t know about me, who else didn’t know?

I had to follow this path. It would be what it would be. I could be patient a bit more. I had waited my whole life to find a clue, anything, anyone to shed a light on this mystery.

My cousin came back online. She asked me a few more questions, which I was glad to answer. She said she had asked an aunt about me, and my aunt wanted to talk to me. Of course, I agreed.

I don’t recall now if it was that same day or the next that I talked with her. I had the impression I was in an interview of sorts. The aunt held answers to my momma. That was her sister. She revealed very little but in the end I asked about contact information, and while she wasn’t sure if the information was still correct, she gave me what she had.

Now, it needs to be said that I had, behind the scenes, been researching and cross referencing the leads I had already. This was too important. I couldn’t just hope. Hope is not a strategy. Hope is a wish. But hope was my fuel. So, when my aunt gave me the contact information, I checked it against what I had. There was corroboration!

I remember trembling. But even with the broken glass in my guts, I prepared for the single most important text in my life.

It was a Wednesday. Good things happen on Wednesdays. I was born on a Wednesday. Irony or fate? I had practiced what I would say. And how to say it. Draft after draft. I sent it just after 1pm that very afternoon.

Just jump.

I don’t know what I expected. Silence? A text? A call? I just didn’t know. The wind just stopped. I was in suspended animation. And I held my breath. I sent the text with a current picture. But the picture didn’t go through. Maybe the text didn’t send?

I thought back to my aunt…had she called momma? What about when I give the answers to any questions momma might have? I felt like I would be giving an account of my life, the wheres, the whys, and the hows. I would ask my questions and she would ask hers, and we would go from there.

As I’ve said before, it was a long night. I don’t remember what the rest of that day was like. I was in a daydream of what ifs. But the night was long. Nights usually are since I’ve suffered insomnia since I was a child. But this night, this night my life had changed. I had made first contact. This had been my destiny, this had been my fate and I embraced it with trembling hands. Trembling for all the reasons I’ve said before. But also, there was another consideration: my adoptive family.

Now, after all the water that’s been under that bridge, good and bad, I was still sensitive to them for some reason. They had known that I had been looking from time to time, but frustratingly, they had no answers for me. Now that I had found those answers, what would I say? I told my cousin who had been my partner in crime for most of my life the news. He was happy for me.

I was glad this was his reaction. What else should it be? Well, it could have been taken many ways actually. He knew intimately the Hell I endured because he saw the conflict between my adoptive mom and myself. I was a cautionary tale in the family. My rebellion went beyond the usual, normal rebellion of a teenager. I rebelled against everything and everyone that stood in my way. No one understood what I found to be obvious: I was stolen from where I belonged and I was angry about it.

Age mellowed my intensity to a degree. And when I finally found her, afterwards, I would have a sense of peace that I was acknowledged by my family. Even if I wasn’t welcomed, even if I wasn’t going to be accepted, I was acknowledged.

And this was enough, if it had to be.

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Michael DeMarais

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.