Families logo

Looking at the movie "Fireproof"

Caregiver Burnout is Real

By Kelly HornePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Looking at the movie "Fireproof"
Photo by Dominik Lange on Unsplash

I was watching “Fireproof” again.

It’s ironic, but I do not think it is a movie that I could enjoy if my husband and I were fighting. Instead it is one movie I enjoy when my world is going well, and I just want a sappy movie to watch to get in my feels.

This time though, I am watching it as we are fresh from pandemic closures. We have all had lots of time to concentrate on looking inside oneself more and becoming a little more insightful overall. Or maybe just me because my job changed from week to week during this time period. Or maybe I just saw into the movie what we are seeing more and more in the real world right now.

That is people struggling to be caregivers. Honestly, go back and watch the movie if you are a caretaker. The first thing the wife starts complaining about is the fact that she feels alone in trying to help her dad be a caregiver to her mom who has just had a stroke. Oh sure, you see that in the movie even when you are not looking for it because they basically try to hit you over the head with it as a reason she is extra stressed. Also, they use this situation as a way to show her husband’s change in heart later in the movie.

Honestly though, it is a real thing. Caregiver burn out. People who feel stretched between trying to care for a spouse and/or family, while watching their parents grow older, and possibly needing them more too.

By National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

As I was watching the movie, I kept thinking her dad needed some sort of respite program. Someone to come in the home other than just his daughter who isn’t able to help until after she has worked her full-time job all day. Also, why wouldn’t someone who worked as the publicity person for the hospital know of the opportunities for help that her mom and dad might be eligible for, unless we are to just assume that because they live in their own home that they have too many personal resources to be eligible for help. We do know that because the hospital bed and wheelchair were not were not affordable for them, that at the same time they do not have the money to cover the extras and help they need; which is where many seniors do find themselves.

I know, I know. My kids get on me all the time for pointing out nonsensical parts of movies or shows. Or like in this case, overthinking the details of the movie. Sometimes we make a game out of who in the family will be the first to spoil the plot by pointing out all the inconsistencies. We sound like a ball of fun to watch movies with, right?

I do think there is a major shift in the world as far as ages are going. We seem to have all this great technology and latest in medical science that is making us live longer. Add to that fact that we seem to be seeing less and less young adults having babies and it makes for an older population on earth.

https://ourworldindata.org/population-aged-65-outnumber-children

According to the article above, the population of children under 5 have been outnumbered by our population of seniors aged 64 and older since 1966! Or at least that is the case for the United States; other areas have not made the transition just yet, but there is evidence it will happen. I honestly thought it was more recent than that for the U.S. but when you take into account that by 1970 50% of single women and 40% of married women were participating in the labor force, well it just stands to reason. I mean, to work full time leaves less time for having babies and taking care of babies. If you are in the work force, then you may make a more conscience effort to NOT get pregnant before accomplishing great feats in your field; or maybe you feel accomplished without having a mini me running around.

https://www.brookings.edu/essay/the-history-of-womens-work-and-wages-and-how-it-has-created-success-for-us-all/#:~:text=Between%20the%201930s%20and%20mid,participating%20in%20the%20labor%20force

I am not saying that women are not amazing and can do whatever they put their mind too. I have a daughter! If she wants to be the next great physicist or astronaut, then I am all for it. I am just sharing statistics to show evidence that as the world ages, the caretaker role of caring for kids may change to needing more and more resources for caring for parents instead.

Let us not forget that no one plans to die young. If we are healthy and happen to continue through our life spans, then we will all one day be older adults. We should all be advocates for more resources for the older generation, thereby, maybe one day even having the chance to benefit from those resources ourselves.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Kelly Horne

Married. Loving mother to my daughter and son. Full time employee of local government office as an Admin Asst. Currently in process of obtaining my Master's Degree in Library Science.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.