Families logo

Life of a Super Mommy

Raising Wild Things

By Bridgette DianaPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

Definition of a, “Super Mommy:” SUPER busy, SUPER tired, but SUPER blessed!

There are days where I feel like I am winning at life. The kids wake up in a good mood, they are not arguing, because the other is looking at them (this is apparently a reason to be upset in my home), we are out of the house on time, and nobody forgot a shoe. Sometimes I even have good hair and make-up day too, but those days are about as rare as snow in Florida.

Fun fact: It hasn’t snowed in Gainesville since 1989.

On these days I feel like I’m on top of the world. Nothing and nobody can stop me on these two particular days of the year… Ok, maybe it’s not THAT rare, but it sure seems like it sometimes.

Then, there are days when I feel like NOTHING is going right! I wake up late, but the kids woke up an hour early, and decided to color on everything except a piece of paper, OR paint everything except their nails with fingernail polish. Thank God for Magic Erasers! After waking up late, cleaning up messes, and getting all three kids ready for school they now want heart shaped pancakes for breakfast! Why I ever thought it was a good idea to make any sort of, “shaped,” pancakes for my kids is beyond me. Since when is a regular circular pancake not ok? NOT TODAY! Today they will have regular shaped pancakes or NOTHING. I’m putting my foot down! That’s what, “good,” mommies do, right? HA! Twenty minutes, and five heart shaped pancakes later all is well. There should be a special Starbucks menu for these types of days...

As a single mother I am the mommy, daddy, chef, maid, chauffeur, and my personal favorite, the, “booboo,” kisser. Isn’t it crazy how a kiss from mommy can make a, “dying,” child instantly healed? My days start early, and end late. I think the quote, “Mommies of little boys work from son up til’ son down,” is so accurate. Except in my case there are two little girls in addition to that, but I wouldn’t trade this life for anything. There is a lot to be said for being a single parent. It’s tough, but the reward is great.

My kids may drive me crazy sometimes, but I know that one day they will grow up, and I will miss these moments. I know that the days of, “one more kiss goodbye,” when I drop them off at school/daycare will turn into, “Mom! Don’t kiss me in front of my friends, you’re so embarrassing,” and the, “I love you to the moon,” phase will one day come to an end, so for now I will cherish these moments because at the end of the day I am SUPER blessed that these three little people love me so unconditionally (even though I think they are secretly little villains, that are trying to take over my household).

“If you are a Mom, you are a Superhero, period.” –Rosie Pope

parents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.