Families logo

Life After a Baby

There’s always hope.

By AmariPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
1

My life as a young mum hasn’t been easy. I didn’t expect my experience to be so painful and full of hatred. Here’s how it all started...

I met this guy, he perceived himself to be kind, loyal, loving, and ready to settle down. We had fun, we laughed, and enjoyed each other's company, until I got pregnant, that is. The first thing he told me was to have an abortion, which shocked me because he used to tell me how he loved me and if anything happens, he would be there for me. Turns out that was the biggest lie of the century.

I told him “I am keeping my baby, if you want to leave, you can.” He chose to stay, which I was very grateful and happy for. I didn’t want to do this on my own. I wanted to break the cycle, be something more than just a single mum.

Only if I knew him choosing to stay would bring me so much stress and heartache.

As my pregnancy went on, he changed. He was blunt, always a new excuse, staying out late hours, new females coming round. I instantly knew something was wrong. I just couldn’t prove it. Half way through my pregnancy, I just couldn’t stand it anymore, I knew something was up but had zero proof. So I ended it. I told him if things change we could get back together.

Fast forward to the day my beautiful little boy was born! I honestly thought this would change everything. I was sadly mistaken. He was barely around, didn’t buy any pampers, wipes, or clothes. Any of the essentials! If it wasn’t for my mum and close friends, I would be struggling! This inconsistency of him being present and helping happened throught my pregnancy and the day our son was born.

When my son turned one, I found out he got someone else pregnant while I was carrying his child also found out he cheated on me with two girls (which didn’t surprise me, I knew my gut feeling wasn’t lying) it broke me because everything was a lie. I gave him my all and he betrayed my trust and wasted my time.

My point of this personal story is to all my single mothers and fathers who think there’s no way out or feel as if life doesn’t go on. My son is now two and it’s been just me and him. I went back to college, I got a job, and now I’m working on my business. Never give up on your dreams because your life didn’t go the way you planned. There is life after a baby. You can be happy and successful.

Don’t let your past determine your future.

Your past does not define you but makes you stronger.

single
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.