Families logo

Letter to Mum

What I want my Mum to know

By Sarah ParkPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
6
Letter to Mum
Photo by The HK Photo Company on Unsplash

Dear Mum,

I want you to know that:

You taught me how to be strong and give strength to others.

You taught me how to love and be loved.

You taught me how to fight for what's right by never giving up, even when the doctors and other professionals did.

You taught me how to carry on when I just didn't want to because that's what you did.

You taught me to work hard for what I want and that it is okay to follow my dreams as you did.

You taught me to be selfless, as you were all those times you spent on a fold-up bed next to me in the hospital.

You taught me to never give up on a relationship that was important to me.

You cared, you loved, you supported me just so I could have the best life.

You provided normality in a judgemental and scary world.

You were the glue that held me together at times

You were the glue that held the whole family together.

You taught me to never give up on myself and fight to the end.

You taught me to not take things for granted because you don't know when they will be gone.

Some of this you taught me too late... when you were gone and I couldn't thank you for all you had done.

When you were gone I realised that we had a better relationship than I gave you credit for.

When you were gone I realised how much you held our family together.

When you were gone I realised that with you in it my life was full.

When you were gone I realised how alike we were.

When you were gone I realised how brave you were to keep silently fighting not just at the end but throughout my whole life.

When you were gone I realised how much you had done for me throughout my life.

So mum,

I hope you are proud of the woman I have become and I can continue to make you proud.

I hope you know how grateful I am for all you have done for me.

I hope that you know how much I love you even when we didn't like each other that much.

I thank you for the life you gave me and for not listening to the professionals.

I thank you for the lessons I've learnt.

I thank you for being the beautiful, talented woman that you were.

I thank you for all the encouragement you gave me.

I thank you for all the opportunities I was given because of you.

I miss our talks.

I miss our hugs.

I miss your smile.

I miss hearing you sing and play the guitar.

I miss the way you would look at me when you thought I wasn't watching.

I miss the strong family unit that we had because of you.

What I wouldn't do to rewind the clock. All I have are memories now and well what can I say, there are some amazing memories all because of you and all that you did for me.

I hope you are having fun up there with all those amazing musicians and your dear friend.

Until we meet again, I just want you to know just one more time, I love you and miss you every day.

But I will stay strong and I will carry on fighting for what's right.

I will try my best to continue to make you proud.

From your daughter, I thank you for being my mum and showing me what it was to be loved.

Love always

Sarah

parents
6

About the Creator

Sarah Park

I have wrote a blog for many years and more recently realised how much I love to write. I would love to get my work out there and develop my skills further.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.