Families logo

Let’s Go Babes!

Memory of a Queen

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
6
Let’s Go Babes!
Photo by Steven Van Elk on Unsplash

Holidays are the times for tradition. My mother was one who loved the Holidays with her children. Cookies, shopping and family comes to visit her. One tradition my mother and I had was a evening drive to look at the light shows that homeowners display.

This evening, I needed to get out of the house. I am pretty shut in since I hurt my foot but I could drive around and look at lights. Actually, I started out at the waterfront determined to write. As I sat there, at the water’s edge, I felt as if I was missing a part of me. I wanted to do something different and the lights from Downtown Petoskey, Michigan beckoned me to visit their glow.

Mom has been gone for two years now. Yet, I yearned for her companionship this evening. With chilled fingers, I packed away my key board and decided to put aside the writing. As I pondered what to do, I decided I should take a ride through the town to see what I could see. I skipped last year but I decided that I wouldn’t miss this chance.

In the day, where this activity would have been taken with my mother, she would pull out my step-dad’s thermos and pour us a cup of hot chocolate. She would ask to stop at the top of the hill of Mitchel street so we could look down at the decorated town as we sipped our sweet treat. This year, I drove through McDonalds and got a hot coco to go. Off to the top of the hill I sat alone, wishing my mom was there too.

Many would say that she was with me. This is a comforting sentiment but I wanted to hold her hand, smell her shampoo and listen to Christmas music as we rode around. The insignificant conversation was everything now that I think of it. Holidays are just not the same now that she is gone.

Tonight, I wanted to take pictures of some of the most beautiful houses but the pictures are dismal. Reds, blues and white lights danced across my eyes and reflected off the scant snow patches on the ground. When I got home, I looked at my treasures I had taken through the night’s adventure and found them disappointing. I wish I knew which box in storage holds my camera. Some of those homes deserve to be photographed for their beauty.

Small towns are perfect for viewing lights. Mom had a route she wanted to take. She would say, “This friend lives down here, let’s see what they did this year.” There is nothing more satisfyin as seeing your effort is the reason for their smile. Mom had the sweetest smile. I swear, she never stopped smiling when ever we were out and about. The drive should have only taken an hour, perhaps, to cover the major streets, but mom made it a couple hour event.

I am not certain why the number of houses of lit houses has decreased from what I remember. I found that I should have picked up someone to ride with me so they could look down the side streets while I drove. Oh well, I think I needed to be alone for this outing and spend time with my mother in my thoughts. As if mom was in the car, I would stop and take in the view for a moment to sip on my coco. The number of houses decorated really didn’t matter because I took time and enjoyed each house and what was offered.

As I turned the corner to go down the street to my home, I could see a few houses all decorated with bright lights. As I navigated the car into the driveway, I was disappointed in the lack of lights on the house. You see, the queen of the house would have us hustle to get the lights put up with a slew of fake Christmas trees placed and decorated in the yard. I know that she wouldn’t be happy with the house’s appearance if she was still here.

I know it is still early in the month so I may have the gumption to decorate outside. Right now, the hole in my heart were she kept full, is running empty. When that kind of beauty leaves your life, it takes a toll on the holiday spirit. Perhaps, I will be able to find the joy again and turn on some Christmas lights. I still have 20 to 24 days to make that decision. Yes, I know, I should just do it.

I am amazed how much her family did for her to bring her happiness. I just wish I could hear her say once more, “Let’s go babes and look at the lights.” That thermos is packed away safely in a box. Perhaps, next year, my grandson would be old enough to join me in a Christmas light drive. For now, it is a memory of the mother queen.

Thank you for Reading. If you have enjoyed this story, please take the time to view some of my other writings. Happy Holidays to you and yours!

immediate family
6

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.