Families logo

Lessons Lasting a Lifetime

Mothers teach us so much in life and this is what my mother taught me.

By Burnt BaguettesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
My mothers high school graduation photo

Lessons Lasting a Lifetime

Mothers teach us so much in life and this is what my mother taught me.

My mom has taught me a lot in my days. Some good things and some bad. No matter what they were, they were good lessons that have shaped me into the person I am today. My mother raised my sister and me ever since we were fetuses. My mom and dad got a divorce when I was in the 1st grade, so my mother became a single mom. She is strong and powerful and managed to do so many things. She worked and still works three jobs to keep my sister and me in private school, so we can have the best education! One day I hope I can be a great parent like she is and I hope I can teach the wonderful life lessons she taught me to my children if I have children. Moms are awesome and I’m glad I have mine in my life.

The best life lesson that my mom taught me is cooking. Cooking isn’t as memorable as other lessons, but it is the most helpful. She taught my sister and me how to cook when we were around seven years old. That was just around the time my parents had gotten a divorce. So my mother was working three jobs and one of them involved traveling, so we had to know how to cook to survive. So our mom taught us to cook and use the microwave! We had pasta for every meal because that’s the first meal we learned to make, so we have that every day now. She then introduced us to the magic of microwaveable meals. That’s my beloved and the reason I am still here today. We ate so much when we didn’t feel like cooking. Another good life lesson would be learning how to wash clothes. She taught us that because she was getting sick of doing it. That helps me now when I want clean clothes! I love my mom and there are so many more life lessons that were good, but these are the most memorable that have shaped me into the person I am today.

A sort of sad/bad life lesson my mom taught me was love doesn’t last forever. That was present when my parents got divorced. They had been together for a little over eight years. And then they got divorced on one very sad Saturday or Sunday. I remember watching my dad leave and being very confused. My mom sat my sister and me down and told us about something. The fact that love doesn’t last forever. She said that mommy and daddy didn’t love each other anymore and they were splitting apart. And she said that our dad wasn’t coming back to live with us. That shattered my first-grade mind and I cried for weeks. That was a lesson and a period that I would remember for the rest of my days. Some loves do last forever, but some don’t. My grandfather and my grandmother on my mom's side were together for over fifty years and then one day got a divorce. I wasn’t alive to see it, but I’m sure it crushed my mom, who was in college at the time. I remember all the sad and scary times we had together and the fact that my mom still powered through was amazing.

I love my mom and I always wish the best for her. She’s helped me so much in life and taught me many good life lessons and through good and bad times she’s been there. I love her and I hope she has a wonderful Mother’s Day!

immediate family
1

About the Creator

Burnt Baguettes

I like to write sad, dystopian lesbian love stories. That is all you really need in life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.