Families logo

Laughter, Tears and Love

Jumping into Toddler Momming Through Foster Care.

By Rebecca BaileyPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
The current state of my living room.

My sweetheart came into my home at 16 months old. In the time she has been with us, I have laughed more than I had in a long time. She is sunny, and funny, and goofy! She is also able to get into anything and everything! She has found things in our home we didn’t even remember we owned.

Yesterday she started chanting, “No! No! No!” because she had heard it soooooo many times over the previous few days. She is always looking for new and exciting ways to accidentally harm herself. And then gets upset when we stop her.

Typical toddler behavior, I know. I admit to feeling like I’m constantly falling short on this mom thing. I should know she’ll be able to get into something. I should anticipate behaviors. I should be able to calmly and lovingly redirect her towards safer activities. But, in the moment, I panic as thoughts of her hurting herself, of not being able to keep her safe, of explaining to the caseworker why this child got injured in my home—and I fail to be calm and soft voiced. My voice goes to hysteria range as I beg her to stop what she’s doing.

It’s not just these safety moments that I disappoint myself, it’s when I turn around after having my eyes off my beautiful child for 10 seconds, and see everything in the room pulled out and spread across the floor, and I say a defeated, “Baby, no!”

All parenting is learning as you go, but when you jump into a child’s life as a foster parent, it’s baptism by fire for learning this kid. We aren’t glorified babysitters, we don’t get a set of likes and dislikes and a schedule. We get a child with the clothes on their back, and maybe a change of clothes, and are supposed to figure out everything else. It’s hard.

That being said, while I would change my reactions, I wouldn’t change a thing about this beautiful soul who I fall in love with every day. I laugh and giggle and sing along with her. My heart melts when she lays her head on my shoulder at sleep time, as I sway and sing to her. Foster parenting is full of laughter, tears, and joy. And so much love! Because even if I only get to love her for one day, it’s one person and one day more she was loved, and that is totally worth it!

foster
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Bailey

I’m a believer, a foster mom, a dog mom & an amateur baker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.