Families logo

Kindred Spirit

Heart of Kindness

By Karen EyoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Closer still

I am a daughter a sister and aunt. A daughter to two a sister to six an aunt to eight.

Four words I repeat over and over “How can I help?” How can I help you my darling kindred spirits what kindness can I impart to help you from going down the rabbit hole, the depths of despair, the chaos and crisis of your mental health and not coping with ever-changing moods and evolving life cycles? You see I have survived and thrived, I have coped and hoped I have fallen and got up many times over and over so I am and will be here for you Kin through thick and thin.

Let the roles I have been ordained to play since you all entered my life and became kin let me play my part and play it well. I can give you relief and freedom from heartache and pain. I perform miraculous feats like a genie with a magic lantern, I flit from brother to sister to nice and nephew on a wing and a prayer. I commit to being a resolver and solver of what you cannot fix. So dear brother when you call me with your anxiety I will listen, Sister when you write me with your worries I will reply, Mother when your silent I will call, Father when you laugh through your tears I will laugh with you, Nephew when you are troubled I will meet you, Niece when you are in despair I will come collect you.

Kindness is my birthright and I use it as part of my expense account because my wealth of kindness includes a never ending flow of capital. I can never be overdrawn from the abundance and wealth in my account. I will not be overdrawn or bankrupt so let me be the lender of kindness and include you in my legacy of all things good and kind. We are all in this together as kin, it is your birthright as well as mine to ask and receive, so ask me as your daughter, your sister and your aunt, do not be afraid I will step up and rise up to your challenge. I will promise to do what is expected of me as your blood relative. There are many years passed between us, we have intertwined our lives with generations that have come and gone, we learn from our loving ancestors on the past good deeds done, so I must, we must continue to do what is fitting and accept our differences with the right intention of holding each other in high esteem. When I am in your presence teach me compassion so we can go through the struggle together my brothers, sisters, mother, father, niece and nephews. Allow me to embrace the truth of your existence so you can do and see the true potential of paying it forward. Let me take the steps one at a time to believe in you, encourage you, listen to you, be strong for you, talk with you. We can do all things which strengthen us. I will make time for you today, tomorrow, next week, next month and we will have been able to get our mindsets out of chaos into calm.

My promise to you all my kindred spirits for the future and present 2022. Let it be my voice you will hear speak, my heart you will feel beat, my hands you will take and hold, my courage to make you strong. I will be there whenever you need me just reach out and call my name.

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

Karen Eyo

Stretchologist and Poet of great strength and resilience past, present and future

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.