Families logo

Kidnapped

From Tropical Hurricane to Frozen Waterfalls

By Linda BeaulieuPublished about a year ago 11 min read
Like
The Second Day...

We drove up the snowy, winding road toward the cozy A-frame cabin. Still laughing at the directions from the rental agency, “count 19 bridges, turn right, pass a church with three crosses, turn left, next left and look for the sign ‘Falling Waters”, we were glad to arrive at the cabin. We continued to laugh when we realized that the namesake waterfall was frozen solid!

But we had made it, we arrived safely! We piled out of the car and anxiously tried the keypad code provided by the agency. Another obstacle - the code is not working! My brother, Joe, moans, groans, and pulls out his phone to try to call them. No surprise, no service, but Joe thinks of everything! He had borrowed a portable wi-fi and in no time was being told that we were too early. It seems the timer was set for 5:00 and it was only 4:30. But, being anxious to accommodate us, the operator cheerfully said she would override the timer so we could get in out of the cold.

It all still seemed unreal to us. Just a short 48 hours earlier, Roger and I had been fleeing for our lives from Hurricane Ian, a category 4 hurricane aimed right at our house in Tampa. Evacuating was not easy. I was concerned that Roger would be driving the long trip to Joe's house in Mobile, but Joe assured us we could stay at their house as they were going out of town. The house would be all ours!

We drove all day from Tampa to Mobile, thankfully uneventfully as Roger is 86 years young and I was concerned about his driving that distance. He drove safely, and arrived feeling fine but tired. We were glad to be safely away from the storm.

Joe’s home is lovely. He is so handy. He and his wife have added so many extras to make it more comfortable. After all of our greetings, and getting our luggage in, we settled outside under a gazebo on their gorgeous deck to enjoy some drinks. It was his handiwork and was indeed something to boast about. The weather here was pleasant, warm with a nice breeze.

After some small talk and catching up, I notice Joe’s wife, Pam, looking at him rather anxiously. Joe nods at her and then focuses his attention on the two of us. He knowingly reminds us that we have not had a vacation in ten years. He is so right about that. Our business failed and until the pandemic, I had been working six days a week to get us back on track. I worked in assisted living facilities where I was forced to quit during the pandemic due to the lockdown. He told us, too, that there was nothing we could do about the storm, where it was going, or what would happen to our home while we were gone. Worried, I reluctantly agreed that he was right again.

Then he announces matter-of-factly to us, “You two are going with us tomorrow to the mountains!” I looked at Roger and he looked at me. We were both surprised and full of questions, and at the same time excited. Pam spoke up and told us that months ago – way before the Hurricane - when she booked the cabin, the only one that was available had two bedrooms! At the time, she didn’t think anything about it, but now she realized it happened for a reason. She firmly believed we were meant to go with them! That was it and we were going!

They had made up their minds. It seemed we had no choice but to agree and go along for the ride. I expressed concern over more travel after a full day but Joe assured us he and Pam would drive the whole way, so we would be able to rest. How could we say no?

I slept soundly at their house, only because I was so tired from the trip. That was a good thing because I was so excited that I would not have slept a wink otherwise. Not only the traveling but there was the repacking. I had to make sure we would have everything needed for a weekend away from stores and civilization. Roger uses a CPAP and is diabetic, 4 shots a day and an extra on Saturday. Meters, needles, and all that has kept him going these many years had to go with us. These are things that many younger people, luckily, do not have to worry about. But where there is a will, there is a way and Roger is a real trooper.

For me, the biggest challenge would be to ride in a car for another whole day. All of my adult life, I have had a phobia of auto accidents. Although I postponed learning to drive until I was twenty years old, I later conquered my fear and was able to drive long trips for work. But in retirement and not driving as much, the old fears are returning.

Planning to arrive at the cabin in daylight, we left early the next morning. My struggles with my fears were real, but Joe is a good driver. I survived the spaghetti-like Interstates around Atlanta by pretending to be asleep and closing my eyes in self-defense. After Atlanta, it seemed we arrived at the North Carolina mountains in no time.

Even in North Carolina, bad weather continued to plague us. After fleeing an unusually late hurricane, we discovered we were facing an unusually early snowfall in the mountains. For us, it was delightful. But not so much for Joe who had to navigate the crazy directions and deal with the new snow to get us safely to the cabin. But once inside, we felt transported into a different world, as we settled in after a light dinner.

Pam had the food all planned which made it even more enjoyable. I did not have cooking obligations to worry about. We had stopped along the way at a local liquor store, and I had impulsively bought a bottle of Ghirardelli Chocolate Liqueur. As I sat guiltily enjoying this silky, sinful luxury, the warmth of the fire and the slow passing of time filled my senses. I was grateful to be alive and surrounded by my loved ones in a safe place.

The first full day was a lazy day, with everyone sleeping in and eating as they wished. I was up early and started coffee. It had been a long time since we had spent time with Joe and Pam, and this was a very special treat to be in their company. We had lost Mom during the pandemic, and for a time we revisited memories of her and caught up with ALL of the family news. Pam had planned to grill steaks this first night. Luckily the snow had melted and we would be able to do that. This day was exactly what we all needed - lazy and rejuvenating.

Joe and Pam had more surprises on the second day. After breakfast, Pam informed Roger that they had something planned they knew he would like. Roger has recently renewed his lifelong hobby of model trains and they were aware of this. She had been able to add us to the passenger list for an excursion train, the Great Smoky Mountain Railroad train that was based in Bryson City, a little distance from our cabin. But she told us, we would have to leave soon as it was a luncheon ride and we had to be there by 10:00 am. So, off we went!

Despite the previous day’s bad weather, the train ride went well. Being added at the last minute, we could not sit with Joe and Pam but instead shared our trip with a delightful couple from Tennessee. They were fun to be with and easy to talk to. And at the end of our four-hour ride, there was a museum of model trains! Sadly, Roger was feeling his years by this time and unable to fully enjoy the museum. I took as many pictures as I could for him to enjoy later at the cabin. All in all, he had managed very well and I was very proud of him.

Our nice meal on the train meant that we didn't need a fancy dinner that night. A light meal and more of the Chocolate Liqueur worked magic! The evening was so relaxing and peaceful. Roger and I slept soundly and woke energetic, ready to see what the next day would bring. Again, Joe and Pam did not disappoint!

Although this trip was new for us, Joe and Pam annually retreated to this area. They were familiar with the surrounding area and knew the best places to go and the best things to do. For this day, Joe had planned a trip along a stretch of highway known for its waterfalls.

The weather continued to be nice and the waterfalls and rapids we passed were gorgeous. At one particular waterfall, there was an observation point. Roger and Pam opted to stay up top while Joe and I ventured down to the Falls. Cascading, winding stairs took you to the bottom of the falls where you could get great pictures. On the way back, Joe grabbed my hand and we walked hand in hand for quite a distance up the stairs. He commented that it “wasn’t every day that I get to hold my sister’s hand”. A simple statement, but his comment touched me deeply. I fought back tears. Joe is my younger brother, by 13 years. Unfortunately, due to this age difference, lifestyle differences, and just life in general, we were not as close earlier in life as we have been since Mom died. This was an unforgettable moment for me.

Next came another surprise. At the end of the waterfall ride, we arrived at a small mountain town. Joe pulled into the side of a service station. I looked up and saw a sign, Caffe’ Rel. Joe and Pam led us into the restaurant, giving us no hint at what it would be like. When we entered, we were amazed! This restaurant would have been at home on Park Avenue in New York!

Once seated, we began to look around. Surrounding us was a wonderful collection of memorabilia. There were old musical instruments and sports memorabilia around the room and many one-of-a kind collectibles. But the most impressive items were rare Victorian antiques, especially a beautiful sideboard with an unusual feature of a clock at the top.

The menu was upscale Italian but at affordable prices. The owner and chef, it seems had been a famous big-city Chef who had decided to retire and provide a true Italian dining experience for locals and tourists in the unlikely city of Franklin, North Carolina. However, reality hits again if you go to the restroom as they share restrooms with the gas station!

Returning along the waterfall road back to the cabin was as beautiful as before, although the sun was setting and nightfall was approaching. This was the last night and we were all aware that with morning we would be leaving to return to Mobile. Roger and I would be facing the reality of discovering whatever storm damage there might be to our home in Florida. But for tonight, our world was relaxed and enjoyable.

I woke up early on our travel day, before dawn. I quietly slipped to the living area, made the coffee, and settled with a cup to sit alone with the mountains for a while. I wanted to enjoy the silence and the darkness. I recalled a time earlier in my life in the 1970s when I had traveled alone for many years. I owned a motorhome well before it was the modern craze. Sometimes I miss the moments of just me, the beauty of nature, and my thoughts. That was before Roger. Now we live in the city.

If it had been warmer, I would have been outside but I was more than happy just to experience this view through the tall, high windows of the cabin. I watched as the sun slowly crept across the mountains opposite us. And, of course, the smoky clouds that these mountains are famous for.

After a good while, everyone woke up and one by one joined me in front of the fire. We would soon be packing the car to leave it all behind. I found it difficult to find words to express to my brother and his wife how very much this trip had meant to us. There are times when words just fall short of expressing deep emotions.

Hours of driving later, we were back in Mobile. We decided to remain a few days longer as the power was still out at our Florida home. This told us that our refrigerator would be a disaster, but other evacuations had taught us to empty it. Years before we had lost hundreds of dollars of food to a previous power failure. We were better prepared this time. As fate would have it, Tampa was more fortunate than cities south of it, as the storm had left a path of devastation in south Florida that would take too many lives and destroy much property.

My brother and his wife had preserved our sanity by kidnapping us. Had we spent our evacuation in their lovely home by ourselves, we would have been filled with anxiety and worry. Instead, they provided a lovely, once-in-a-lifetime experience for us.

values
Like

About the Creator

Linda Beaulieu

Hi! I am a 77 year young writer. I am Zumba Instructor. I have owned a gym, been a sales rep for Fortune 300 companies, travelled alone for 15 years, lived in Hawaii 11 years and been a book dealer for 40 years. It is my time to create!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.