Families logo

Juts Kids!

Let start from the beginning.

By Hernán ArteagaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

That's what it was! Juts KIDS!

I said to myself, "this is going to be easy, right".

To be honest getting to work with kids for me wasn't very hard. For some kind of reason I found myself connected to it. But it will be better if i share with you how i get there.

It began in Venezuela, where I found myself trapped in a country with no way to go. Situation was bad and I needed to get out of there.

My choice was England. My sister was already living here with my brother in law, so coming to this country was not just easy, also was convenient. Getting the paperwork and bank account to be eligible to work didn't take more than 2 months. After that, at one point I started to look for a job. This hunt takes me one day to google, who takes me to a job offer, later to an interview.

It was my first Au Pair job. A french family living in south London. Three kids and obviously the parents. I got no experience for this job whatsoever, but the family was more than happy to take me in. With them, the current au pair was still living in the house and she will be in charge of some kind of training, about the kids routine, school runs and no less, spanish lessons.

Paulina was the au pair before I came to this house. This amazing girl from Mexico got into the routine of the kids very easily. Things that I will never do so easily myself.

She helps me a lot to understand what the job was about, also what was my role in the house and how I will fit in..

I'm still thinking "this is going to be easy".

I can tell now that after 8 months living with them, the job was 50/50 easy and hard. I learn a lot how to go through the whole process of childcare. It made me feel more comfortable, confident in what I was doing.

To whomever is reading this and may start to think in bean an au pair. DO IT!

It is hard to think that you will be living in a house that is not yours. WIth people that you may never meet and get to know entirely. Taking the change and the opportunity to travel and meet new places and faces.

Is a everyday job, an everyday situation. Is went you meet family, and circumstances . You will see them discussing money, time, work, relation. You will have to stay out, on the line. Thinking the kids are the only one in the house.

Your room becomes the most important place inside that house and outside that area is where your daily job began. Making all that aside, is also, love and understanding. Support and maybe, friendship at the end of the period.

It's just KIDS!

But it is also family, opportunities and maybe, who knows, love.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Hernán Arteaga

The London Manny!

Instg: TheLondonManny

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.