Families logo

Intentional Migration

Stepping outside the box.

By A New Dawn BrennerPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

According to Gramling in his article on clouds, he stipulated that we can predict climate change through observing cloud patterns. “They’re crucial to forecasting the future but devilishly hard to model.” Even worse, he goes on, “...storm clouds have gotten taller and have shifted toward the poles...making climate change worse!”

Migration and change, these patterns transcend weather and can take hold in people. But can we predetermine our patterns of interacting with one another? Do they mimic cloud patterns in that they are becoming worse? Here’s my story!

My mother is no longer living, but if she were she would be beyond angered, she’d be pissed! Why? Because of how our world's mentality towards each other and compassion has migrated back several years! My post is about her intentional migration from Bakersfield to Berkeley!

Bakersfield

The fuzzy green caterpillar climbed across the palm of my sweaty young palm in the desert heat. I peered from beneath the large green tomato vines as I helped my sister pick tomatoes; we’d been in the heat of the sun for hours, no water, no break. My mom said, “If farm workers can do it, so can we!” The taste of the sweet tomato escaped my mouth, as juice dropped down my chin, and fell into the dirt. I was scolded for tasting a tomato, trying to quench my thirst.

This was an event from my childhood and during the farm worker's most difficult times in the Central Valley of 1968. My mother and step-father intentionally put us in the middle of it. My mother always attempted to break down barriers to break the hands of time and to bring equality and respect to all cultures. She taught me through her actions and with her words that we are all equal, no matter where you came from, the color of your skin or the size of your bank account!

I often wonder what happened in the lives of people in modern society that lack tolerance and spew hatred. We were not raised to hate, judge or discriminate. Instead, my mother moved us from Bakersfield to Berkeley, her intentions were clear! Her life, friends, artistic creations were full of diversity & culturally enriching!

We marched with Cesar Chavez! I remember him vividly!

Berkeley 1970’s

My mother’s idealisms were synonymous with those of President Barack Obama’s mother, to create a sense of community and a mixed culture, full of idealism and hope for a better future! We moved into the heart of anti-war protests, the black power movement, civil rights movement, and the birth of feminism.

Life changed drastically for my older sisters and brother, who were two, four and five years my senior.

I recall hearing stories of my sisters being turned upside-down in the garbage cans, being pulled down the stairs by the root of their hair, for being “white” in a ghetto neighborhood.

I recall one instance where my step-dad was called, “honkey,” and punched in the face for being late on a car loan payment. I think he was late one day. My dad just turned the other cheek, that’s how he was and how I was raised.

I took a bus to school, I usually sat in the middle of the bus. My bus-driver played oldies; but back then were the modern day Marvin Gaye, anti-war and soul-train music. I don’t recal feeling threatened or fearful going to school. I went to Cragmont school in Berkeley, Ca. My friends were very diverse and would continue for the remainder of my life to model this intentional pattern, my mother’s choice for her children! Thank you mom!♥️

humanity
Like

About the Creator

A New Dawn Brenner

I am a writer, destined to share my passion about our world, life experiences that generate our ideas about others, in an effort to explore alternative mindsets.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.