Families logo

Insight from a New Mom during a very Real Pandemic

The good, bad, and the ugly of not only being a new mother; but also the challenges faced with Covid-19

By Allyson KieszkowskiPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Gracie (8 months) pointing at our sunflowers we planted during the pandemic.

We waited. We had always wanted to be together and start a family even in early the years of our relationship. But, we knew the we wanted to make sure we were ready for emotional and financial responsibility of what it truly entails in becoming a parent.

Though I had a pretty rough pregnancy (I had hyperemesis) we delivered Grace via C-section October, 9th 2019. I loved becoming a mother and our daughter was just an absolute perfect angel we finally had our own little family after 12 years of knowing each other. Life was perfect we lived in our own little bubble watching our beautiful bundle of joy grow before our eyes with each passing day.

My fiance and I keep current I would say we research topics, watch certain news programs, etc. in middle to late February we recall watching the news and hearing about the viruses out break in China. I recall one late night after he had gotten off work talking in our kitchen about the virus. We both agreed that we needed to start preparing for the possibility of it coming to the U.S.

SO.. whenever I would do our weekly shopping I would pick up extra laundry soup, canned goods, instead of getting the one big pack of toilet paper and paper towel I'd grab two, and he picked up few masks at the local hardware store.We were just starting out and on a budget but we I think made the proper preparations. Nothing over the top just gradually picking up things making sure we were stocked up a few weeks head when it came to baby food, diapers, and wipes.

Then March happened. The corona virus had all of us in shock and panic. I felt like we had all been experiencing mass hysteria being forced to take things day by day. Schools closed, travel bans were enforced, people lost their jobs it was like a thief in the night it came and flipped the nation and really the world quite frankly upside down. We all had the same enemy the same fear the unknowing circumstances of the virus and skyrocketing case numbers and deaths in hot spots like New York . At one point I had to stop watching the news and being on social media all together just because of the over-whelming exposure of fear, anxiety, and hate that surrounded me every where we I went over the virus. Which just escalated when George Floyd was killed. Riots and peaceful protests filled the streets. I was witnessing history in real time; a pandemic and a revolution for positive change and equality between us all that had long been over due and suppressed. Voices that deserved to be heard were getting recognized.

Throughout the virus and the BLM movement I have to for my own-self preservation and sanity try to look in the silver-lining of it all. That this virus had made us stop and appreciate our family. The times when we could gather for birthdays, weddings, cookouts without wearing masks. That life truly is a gift. I would look at my daughter when the start of the chaos had begun and still do and I bring myself down to earth each time knowing that to her it is simply a normal day with her mother filled with play, cuddles, learning and growth. I have faith I have to not only for me but for my soon to be husband next month and our precious daughter who has just celebrated her 1st birthday.I thought transitioning into becoming a mother was hard but yet a natural thing for me but never did I expect I would face this during the first year of my first child's life. To all you mothers and especially new mothers out there I see you I hear you and I am here.

parents
1

About the Creator

Allyson Kieszkowski

I am a stay at home mother in rural Indiana that enjoys writing about daily topics regarding family, parenting, kids, and the ups and downs of life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.