Families logo

Indian Roots

What I have left from my Indian grandfather

By Chloe GilholyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Indian Roots
Photo by Julian Yu on Unsplash

Exploring my Indian roots from my grandfather. Although I don’t remember much about my grandfather, I think he has left an impact on my life. The only memory I have of him is sleeping in his dog’s bed as a toddler. He died when I was a toddler. There are some things I do know about him. His name was Brian. He was blind, and had guide dogs. He had been married three times and had at least nine biological children. My Nan was his second wife. He was born in Mumbai and changed his name when he emigrated here. He took the extra o out of his name and gave us all the Gilholy name. He had at least one brother. Other than that, there’s not a lot that I know about him. Despite that, I think there are several things that I have inherited from him.

Eclectic taste of food from the traditional feasts to exotic meals all over the world.

I always did have an eclectic taste for food. As a child, I remember being a picky eater and I quickly grew out of it and became more adventurous. Now I am vegetarian, I still say I have an adven taste, as a lot of my favourite meals originate from Asia like sushi, curry, noodles and salads. One of my favourite meals is from Iran which is a pomegranate and walnut stew known as fesejan. I think it’s the Indian blood in me that makes me love spicy and international foods so much.

A love for animals. Pets have always been a lovely highlight in the family home.

My grandfather was blind and he had a guide dog. Even though I have never owned a pet dog, I do like dogs and I think they are lovely. I also remember my mum and her siblings talking about all the pets they had when they were younger like parrots and cats. He comes across as an animal lover and the little pictures I have seen of him, he always had his sun glasses, and trusty guide dog by his side. Regretfully, I would have liked to have known him more, but he died when I was two. Its a weird feeling to miss somebody that I barely know.

Making use of my senses, regardless of how strong and weak they are.

As he was blind, he had to use his other senses to get by. He could always tell who was near him by his other senses. Someone I know said if you lose one sense, the other senses intensify. He had a great sense of smell, scent and intuition. I am lucky enough to have all my senses, and tales of my grandfather have taught me to make the most of them. He was able to navigate his house, unless my nan rearranged the furniture.

Accepting we have flaws, and to make use of the skills we have.

Having three marriages in a time when it we’re taught to stay married till death do us part. Must have been a lot to go through. We get this thing in our heads that we have be perfect 24/7. The idea of perfection changes through time and space, but the immense pressure is passed on from generation to generstion.

Old photos

I can remember one picture thst summarises my impression of my grandad. He’s standing in the park with his beige cloak, a long cane, black glasses that blended with his hair, and his trusty guide dog by his side. I can imagine him being a man who liked a drink in the pub.

extended family
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.