Families logo

In Our Eyes

The World To You

By gabriella obeidPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dear Mom,

Writing a letter to a woman who responds with “K” on every message I send her is a frustrating, but important task. Though your responses are dry and bland and sometimes they almost seem hurtful, I know you read every word I say. In your eyes, I never respond, I ignore the calls, silence the notifications, look away when you speak to me… In your eyes, you mean nothing to me. In my eyes, you’re the world. I sometimes imagine traveling through the Multiverse, just like the Avengers did in the Marvel comics, and I would find a place where you were happy and it was quiet. The dreams and thoughts of that adventure through time give me blissful never-ending joy, even if I wasn’t there with you. In your eyes, I want you to be gone. In your eyes, I seem to hate you and wish you were dead. In your eyes, the only good that comes from you is your shoes, your money, and your clothes. In my eyes, I see you as my sole source of validation, If I don’t get a smile from you, my whole world shatters and collapses, like a broken hourglass allowing the sand to flow out, preventing the pieces from being put back together because the grains are too small to see. You plague my dreams in the most abominable of ways. In your eyes, I seem to have forgotten what a mother is and how to treat someone like one. In my eyes, I see you as a goddess who is a kind and generous person. At times I wonder where my selfishness and manipulativeness came from. However, mother, there is something I must confess. Though this is a love letter to you, a letter to show my gratitude, love, and appreciation. There is something that has been playing in my mind for years. In my eyes, you don’t listen, you say hurtful words and scream hurtful things. In my eyes, the water I give you doesn’t quench your thirst, the food I offer you doesn’t satisfy your hunger, and the love I show you don’t appeal to your heart. In your eyes, I don’t do any of those things. Mom, do you not see, we're at crossroads here. We think and feel opposing feelings yet, we are alike. I am you and you are me and our eyes are linked. These two perspectives are visions of what we see from each other, and what we see is completely and utterly true. Because the truth is feeling, and if I feel and you feel different emotions, then we must have different truths. I am not asking for any more than you have given me. I am not wanting any more than you’ve shown me, but I ask you to exist together, through our eyes, not yours or mine, but our eyes. Truthfully, I’m not expecting anything to change from this long, thought-out letter to you, however, it does feel good to type it all up and send it to you…one day. I’ll send it to you one day, for now, I will put it in a bottle and throw it in the open ocean and maybe one day it’ll find its owner. After all of this writing and the tears spilled on my laptop keyboard and the worry that the droplets of water will cause my computer to break. A silly worry, if you were here you would have allowed me to remember the impossibility of the tiny streams of water doing damage to my computer in any way. But, you’re not here. In my eyes, however, you never left.

Maybe a simple, "I love you” would’ve sufficed, so I will say it now.

I love you, mom.

From,

your oldest daughter.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.