Families logo

If Walls Could Talk

Fiction Story for Challange

By Maddy MonsterPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
If Walls Could Talk
Photo by Joe Woods on Unsplash

I have been here for as long as I can remember. I have seen generations of families come and go, each one leaving their unique mark on my surface. I have witnessed their joy and their pain, their laughter and their tears. But through it all, I remained silent, an observer in their lives.

But all that changed when I gained the ability to speak.

It was a strange sensation at first, like a whisper in the back of my mind. But as time went on, my voice grew louder, more confident. I found that I could communicate with the world around me, and that was when my true journey began.

I listened intently as a young couple moved into the house. They were excited and full of hope for the future. They painted my surface a beautiful shade of blue and hung up pictures of their travels. They were in love and nothing could stop them.

As the years passed, their love began to fade. The husband spent more time at work, the wife grew lonely. They fought constantly, their voices echoing through my halls. I watched helplessly as their relationship deteriorated, wishing I could offer some sort of comfort.

Eventually, they went their separate ways. The wife left, taking all her possessions with her. The husband stayed behind, but he was never the same. He stopped painting my walls, stopped decorating. He spent most of his time in his bedroom, the only place he could find solace.

It wasn't until a new family moved in that I found my voice. They were a young family with a toddler and a baby on the way. The husband was a carpenter and he spent hours working on the house, making it a home. The wife was a painter and she filled my walls with vibrant colors and beautiful images.

As they went about their daily lives, I listened to their conversations. I heard them argue, make up, and laugh. I heard them share their dreams and fears. I was there for them, a constant presence in their lives.

But one day, they decided to renovate the house. The husband took out his hammer and began to tear down my walls. I was scared, not knowing what would happen to me. But as he broke through my surface, I found myself changing. I no longer felt confined to my physical form. I could move, explore, and discover.

As the renovation continued, I traveled through the house, exploring the nooks and crannies I had never seen before. I spoke with the workers, learning about their lives and experiences. I even helped the family make decisions about their new home.

When the renovation was complete, I was different. I was no longer just a wall. I was a part of the family, a constant companion in their lives. I watched as the baby grew into a child, the child into a teenager. I saw the family go through ups and downs, but through it all, I was there for them.

And when the time came for them to move on, I was there to say goodbye. As the last of their possessions were packed into the moving truck, I whispered a final goodbye, wishing them well in their new home.

And as I stand here, alone once again, I realize that I have learned a valuable lesson. Life is full of change, but it is up to us to embrace it. To explore, to discover, to make the most of the time we have. For even walls can talk, and we have a story to tell!!!

interviewfact or fictionextended familydivorcedadvice
Like

About the Creator

Maddy Monster

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.