Families logo

If It Wasn't For You.

My Saviour

By Talia HalimePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
My Life

Dear Grandmother,

I wanted to write you this letter to let you know how much you have impacted my life. If it wasn't for you where would I be? Or maybe I should be asking, who would I be? All those years of hard work, sleepless nights, and exhaustion, only for you to make sure that my brother and I are being raised in a way she would've wanted. You know who I mean when I say she. Yes, my mother. My mother who was taken away from me at the young age of two. As the saying goes, "it takes a village to raise a child", well you, my dear, were my village. The greatest impact I had in my life came from you. You raised me, taught me wrong from right, showed me what love is, and most importantly sacrificed everything for me. However, no matter how much I write, I will never be able to explain how grateful I am. You filled in a gap that could never be filled. I was young when mum passed away, but as I started to grow up, I missed her, I yearned for her touch, and I longed for her presence. You were the only one that understood this feeling as you mourned your daughter's death every day. You had a way to make all the pain go away, all the heartache, and the grief. The way you raised me and the things you taught me shaped my life and made me who I am today. That's why I continue to ask, who would I have been without you? As a woman, you showed me what strength is, you showed me what love means, and you showed me what self-respect looks like. I grew up with you having daily conversations about the importance of family, our culture, traditions, and most importantly love and forgiveness. You taught me how to forgive, how to understand others, how to interact with people, and how to respect different cultures. You made sure I always did my homework properly and got the highest grades at school. You always made sure I was well-dressed, well-fed, and well looked after. You shaped the me that I am today. I ask who I would've been without you because I know that there is not one person on this Earth that would've loved me like you did, cared for me like you did, raised me the way you did, or respected me as you did. You showed me how to live, how to prioritise, how to be strong, and how to adapt. I lost you on the 13th of September 2020 but I gained another angel. You passed away and I was overseas, I didn't get the chance to properly say my goodbyes. Your passing was one of the toughest and cruellest experiences in my life. I think of you every day. I am grateful for everything you've ever done for me, I am grateful for you, I am grateful to have had you in my life, and I am most grateful to have been able to be a part of your life. You took me in when I was a broken little child and raised me to be a strong and resilient young woman, and for that again I say I am grateful. You used to drive me to school every day and back, take me to my dance classes, and pick me up from friends' houses. The reason why you out of all people impacted my life the most is that you taught me how to love and how to sacrifice for love. To me, that is one of the most valuable things I learned in life. I hope and pray that one day I can become a small piece of the lady you once were. I miss you, I appreciate you, and I love you.

Always and Forever,

Talia

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.