Families logo

I want a challenge

My passion, special education

By Zelda FoxxPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
I want a challenge
Photo by Lina Trochez on Unsplash

I was always told that there could be two schools on a street. One could be a private school, with well behaved kids and it paid really well. The other one would have the worst behaved kids and horrible pay. I would choose to go to go to the second school.

I always liked challenges. From an early age, I liked figuring out problems. Not math problems or building things, but people. My house was, let's say, not the most functional. I do not want to speak ill of the living. I had a brother with a drug addiction and a brother with autism. My father had bi-polar, probably autism as well and my mother has OCD and anxiety. I did not escape this genetic conundrum unscathed, but that is a story for another time.

I grew up learning how to deescalate people. From an early age I learned how to diffuse fights, and help when my brother would temper tantrum. He would try to bang his head and cry endlessly. He was verbal. I felt a responsibility for him. This was nothing my parents did. When he was born I went to the hospital and I held him. This was the first time I held a baby. I did not hold my other brother, due to the fact that I was much younger when he was born.

I felt such love for this tiny human being and I vowed to protect him. I helped him with homework and took him to so many places, even in college. My friends and I would take field trip to the zoo with Todd, so we he could endlessly pet the cows.

I tried my best to be a friend to my brother when he didn't have any and I tried my best to empower him to be an adult. It was not always perfect, but he was the training ground for my future career. I have been teaching for several years now. I would say I have a relatively successful career. It was not always honey bees and sun kisses, but I have learned so much about my time working with children with special needs.

When I was younger, before I entered the field, I laughably thought I knew so much about autism. Today I know I have learned so little. I learn every day something new about my approach and it is very true that you meet a person with autism you have met one person with autism.

I have often gotten questions about what educational area that my brother is a savant in. I always felt quite put on the spot to justify whether my brother has an extraordinary talent. The truth is he doesn't, but he is still completely awesome. I have written two drafts of a book about him, I hope to publish one day.

He inspired me to take my skills to the next level and become a special education teacher. I know that this is not a typical passion. Many may just see it as a career choice or a job. It is so much more. You need a passion to work with children with special needs, not just autism, but any of it. Since I have started my career I continually learn more about what I thought I already knew.

I am very grateful for my experiences. I have met so many talented people in my field and so many awesome kids. I can't wait to see what the future holds and what I will learn.

A year ago both my children were diagnosed with special needs. My son has ADHD and my daughter had OCD and anxiety. I was not entirely prepared for this to happen with my own children, but learning what I have through my brother and career I now know I am more prepared than I thought.

I have to take things one step at a time, but each step gets easier as I go along. This passion I have for education is more then just a passion. It is my life. I look forward to teaching and helping students with special needs for a long time. These children do not have disabilities. They just have a different way of looking at things. It is like looking through a kaleidoscope when you look into their minds, and it is pretty cool.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Zelda Foxx

Mother of two facing a mid life crisis or finally living my dreams of trying to make something of my words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sidney Smith2 years ago

    That is so cool that you are working with special needs children. I find the most life out of this group as well. They are the most loving and kind people. I also have a brother with special needs. He is an awesome dude and super funny!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.