Families logo

I See You, Mother!

A Daughters' Love Through The Eyes Of Christ

By Laila IrelandPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

My fingers are dancing, traipsing along pages, crawling, stepping, stumbling, and running. I see you, mother! Your freckled face frowning down at me as I lay in wonderment of your steely glare. You were the dawn of every morning, the light in the darkness before your hands covered my face.

I see you, mother! The beautiful monster stalking, screaming, seething your words echoing in my daze. Struggling to say that I was sorry! I’m sorry that my crooked, embraced legs stepped on your feet, and to tell you I could see you with my one good eye. To say that you were really pretty. I’d never tell a lie.

I see you, mother! Your sadness beneath colors hide. Standing in your sullen shadow, marveling at your side, I watched your reflection transform in oh, such hurried strides. Primping, painting, and pursing your kisses to me denied. You were a masterpiece where from the wicked monsters rarely chide.

I see you, Mother! Sitting all alone. I see you, Mother! Taking the train from work home. I see you, Mother! Cooking at the stove. I see you, Mother! Worrying and wondering. I see you, Mother! Eating candies at the picture show.

I see you, Mother! Sewing a pink dress for my doll. I see you, Mother! Your face smiling down the hall. I see you, Mother! Laughing with strangers I did not know. I see you, Mother! Your head hanging low when your friends betrayed you and none did care. I was still watching, wishing you would see me there.

I see you, Mother! Singing your country songs. You wanted a house in the hills where, like rabbits, we could roam. Your eyes leaking, your lashes sure to fall every time the phone rang, hoping it was father’s call.

I see you, Mother! Your hair, a tangled mess waiting for the postman to give you grandma’s check; you wanted to buy sweet cakes and a new mane of reddish fiery tress. Then one day, you saw me and painted me just like you! I was elated to appear pretty, your artistry imbued.

I see you, Mother! Desperate and weary. You designed me for purpose, your men friends, of which I was leery. Dismal days of drink and dread purchased food, lights, and bed. All that I did was to make you happy, to feed my siblings, to hope for naught, your promises nigh.

I see you, Mother! Watching me as your bus drove past. I wished you would have gotten off and called me back home. I wished you would have loved me and held me close. I would have massaged your aching feet forever with gladness if only you would have forsaken all the salacious madness.

I see you, Mother! When I look at grumpy women burdened of life and hearts of sorrows; their billowing bellies of grievous gorge. I pray they find Jesus and rest for their wailing souls. I want to tell them no diets will cure depression. That what ails their minds is darkness, devilish decor. Jesus Christ is the answer, the hopeful happiness they’ve been searching for; He will heal their bruised spirits, setting them free to a life of abundance in love everlasting this is what I would say.

I see you, Mother! In the hospital when I touched your cheek and kissed your head. It was the last time I would ever see your freckled face staring into mine. I would’ve liked to have told you I forgive you if I had known you were out of time. I love you, Mother because, I could always see you!

parents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.