Families logo

I Learned to be Patient with My Dad Just like He Was Patient with Me

My Fondest Memories with my Dad

By Debbie CentenoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by KoolShooters

Spending Time with Dad

My parents divorced 38 years ago. I was 21 years old when it happened. As life went on, I left my dad behind on the tiny island of Puerto Rico. Though I don’t see him often, only about twice a year when we visit the island. I call him at least once a month. But last year I spent 3 months with him when he came to visit from Puerto Rico and stayed at my house with us.

Dad is 82 years old. His mind is not as sharp as it used to be. Spending time with him took me back to my childhood years. Dad was an excellent provider. Ever since I can remember, he worked two jobs to provide for his family. But that came at a cost because he barely had time for us. And when he did, it was memorable.

My Fondest Memory

One memory that I hold close to my heart was learning to drive - especially because he found the time for it. Patience was one of dad’s biggest virtue. Dad taught me to drive. His car was a large Chevrolet Impala - his prize possession. Though I was afraid, he never gave up on me. Every time there was an opportunity, he sprung to take me for a practice drive at the supermarket’s parking lot. Now that I think about it, he must have been worried that I would crash his lovely car. But he never told me or made his feelings known to me. He patiently sat by me and gave instructions all the time, using positive encouragement. He also took me to get my driver’s license. I remember the look of pride he had when I passed on the first try. I now understand that look.

Dad and the New Technology

While at my house last year, I noticed his old school cell phone. He told me he had it for six or seven years. I asked him if he’d like to upgrade it. My son had recently upgraded his cell phone and still held on to his old iPhone XS. When he excitedly told me he would love to, so long as he did not have to pay anything, I laughed but got to work on switching phones. He was very excited to have a smartphone. I explained to him the phone’s functions and patiently sat with him while he fumbled his fingers through the many apps on the screen. I enjoyed seeing his smile as he went about exploring it. He learns and picks up quickly.

He Taught Me to Be Patient

Honestly, there were times he asked me to help him with his phone or laptop and I would get annoyed. But I quickly got over it when I remembered what a good father he was. How he had all the patience in the world for me. As an elder, he has forgotten how to perform some basic things. His memory is not as sharp and needs constant repetition to remember stuff. While I was teaching my father how to use a laptop and an iPhone, I realized how fragile his mind is. I had patience in teaching my children, just like my dad had it with me. I remembered how Dad taught me to drive with patience, perseverance, and pride. He never scolded or gave up on me. Therefore, why can’t I have the patience to help him in his time of need? Besides, I enjoy seeing how his smile lights up his face every time he accomplishes something - just like he did when he taught me to drive.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Debbie Centeno

Debbie is an active spiritualist and medium. Yoga and meditation are part of her daily routines. She loves to travel and enjoys writing. Her blogs are Debbie’s Reflection (www.debbiesreflection.com) and Traveler Wows (www.travelerwows.com).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.