Families logo

I Got Married After Dating for Three Months

The Biggest Decision I Made at Eighteen Years Old

By Valentina SophiaPublished 5 years ago 6 min read
Like

We were getting ready to close up. I had worked a double to cover for a coworker and I was so ready to go home when I hurt the bell from someone walking in. "You have got to be kidding me!" I thought to myself but smiled for the customer! I recognized him right off the bat. His sister and I were friends for a short time when I was in high school before we had a falling out so I did meet him maybe once, and saw him in passing a few other times, and he went on a date with my sister once. That was a disaster to say the least.

I was in a bad mood, and honestly... I was kind of mean to him. I put way too much sauce on his sandwich on purpose and yeah, I heard him say chipotle sauce but I drenched that bad boy in sriracha sauce instead. At the time I honestly couldn't tell you why I did it, either. But that will be explained later...

A few hours later, I got a friend request from him! Probably to message me complaining about how bad I burned his mouth, I assumed. After a minute of contemplating, I accepted it.

I remember reading his post about getting a job at one of the two deli's in town and he would be starting close to the same day I would be starting my new job at the other deli. I commented on his post and told him about it when he started flirting up a storm with me! Offering to take me out to dinner and everything! Naturally, I was shocked. Next thing I knew, we were messaging each other on daily basis. All day, every day. I made it clear that I just wanted to be friends, but I will admit... I knew there was something about him.

After about a week of talking all the time, he asked me to go to dinner with him. I made myself clear that it was not a date, I was paying for my meal, and we would go some place like Arby's so it was as far from a date as possible. I even brought my sister as a safe guard. To this day, he still says it was our first date. I can still tell you what he outfit and cologne he wore, what songs were playing in his car, but I couldn't tell you what most of the conversation was. The majority of it was my sister talking while we stared at each other. He asked me the next day to go out with him. I declined and he came off like such a stuck up jerk when he replied "Okay. Your loss!" I almost stopped talking to him until I realized he was just embarrassed and didn't know what to say.

I got out of a horrible relationship six months earlier and it was so bad that I didn't even want to be in a relationship ever again. But I felt safe around him. I kept finding myself wanting to be around him. A few weeks went by like this when he picked me up from work to give me a ride to my brothers birthday party that I was already late for. Little did i know how late I really was going to be... He stopped at a car wash and went in and that was where we had our first kiss.

My parents were really strict ministers so I wasn't allowed to date anyone that hadn't been in our religion for some time as long as I lived in their house. I had just turned eighteen and wasn't ready to move out yet. But we did live next to a park... I made it a daily routine to 'go on a walk' for a few hours and meet him there. We would sit for hours and talk and watch the sun set before I headed home. That's where he told me that he loved me for the first time. We had been dating for three weeks. It was sudden but it felt right. I had been in relationships in the past that had lasted a few years and I still had never felt the way I did about him.

Soon after we went public. I really didn't care anymore what anyone else thought, including my religious family. I just wanted him. He did ask my father for permission after we had already been dating for a few weeks. My father said yes, although I'm pretty sure he already knew.

The night it all changed was when I started to think I was pregnant. Not by him, I didn't cheat... I was raped six months prior to our relationship. I texted him and said I needed to talk to him in person and I think he thought I was going to break up with him because he told me repeatedly to just call him right then. I was scared to tell him, but I did. I told him everything. I bawled on the phone as I expected him to leave me and it hurt to talk about what happened anyway. He was so comforting and assuring that he wasn't going anywhere.

Fast forward about a week and I found out I was eight months pregnant. He was so supportive through it all, but I was terrified he was going to break up with me when he pulled into the state park in our town and said we had to talk. I knew it. It was all too much for him. I get it, I mean... we had only been dating for two months and I'm about to have a baby that isn't yours. I should've known better. I wasn't angry with him. How could I be?

That's when we out of the car, and walked up to the observation point. You can see the whole city from here. I took a deep breath and tried to hold back tears while I looked out over the town. I didn't want to lose him but expecting him to stay with a now single mom was just too much. That wasn't what he signed up for. He grabbed my hand, I am sure he felt how badly they were shaking and he knelt on one knee and asked me to marry him. He explained how much he loved me and how he wanted to be there for my and our baby from the time we get up, to the time we go to bed. He wanted to be there every step of the way. Without hesitation, I said yes!

In three short weeks, we planned a small wedding and got married about a week before our beautiful boy joined the family.

We have been through more than I think any couple I have ever known, has gone through. But if I could take it all back I wouldn't. We are in our mid-twenties now with two beautiful children and home to call our own.

He saved me. He saved me from so much. From going through so many things alone, from the fear and depression from what happened to me, he saved me.

I got married after dating for three months... And it was the best thing I ever did.

To learn more about my story and how my pregnancy came out, read the previous piece I wrote about it. Thanks for your support!

Happy Anniversary, darling. I love you more.

married
Like

About the Creator

Valentina Sophia

"Be the change you wish to see in the world."

Valentina Sophia is my pen name with a deep meaning. I am a mother of two and a wife. I hope you enjoy reading my stories as much as I love writing them. Happy reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.