Families logo

I am My Ancestor's Dream

By: Avril Doucette

By Avril DoucettePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
I am My Ancestor's Dream
Photo by Stéfano Girardelli on Unsplash

To My Indigenous Ancestors the survivors of Genocide, this story is for you. Not long ago, I was a "Colonized" Indigenous Woman. I was dying my hair blonde, wearing and acting against my own culture. Not intentionally of course, just going along with societal norms and trends. Ignoring the calling of my own culture and identity. During that process of dying my hair blonde, and washing away everything that made me different. Why? In attempts to fit in with "Society's Standards". The Barbie look, blonde hair, blue eyes and dimples. Oh how naive I was.

I made all of the parts that made me who I was, and also the resilience of my Ancestors to stay alive during geneocide go away. By changing my physical appearance, I changed my inside appearance too. Hardly, a sign of respect to the Ancestors who attended the Indian Residential School System. Or hardly to the Ancestors who fought for our land and rights against American Attacks at the Canadian Border. Today however, I am a reconnecting Indigenous Woman.

I have reclaimed my identity and the legacy that my Ancestors have left to me. The legacy of culture, spirituality, land rights, protector, medicine woman, activist, artist, story teller, dancer and more. That identity rings true to my soul as I had never found my identity through the erasure of mine. Today I use my voice for the others that didn't have their voices. As through the Discrimination Indigenous People face, and also Indigenous Women. I stand with the many Indigenous Movements using calls to action and my Social Media Platform to support many Indigenous Rights.

Daily I practice my Spiritual Traditional Practices and eat traditional foods. I even place the "Ancestor Plate" to the side and feed my Ancestors that walk beside me in this world and help to guide me and support me. I truly appreciate and respect them for the deep sacrifices that they have made in the past and present to ensure that I have the opportunities that I have today. Also, being Indigenous I had to heal the Generational Trauma that comes from being Indigenous, we are born instinctively with it and face extreme Discrimination in Today's Society.

The best way I can help and heal my community is to heal myself. So that I do not pass along the Generational Trauma due to the Indigenous Genocide down to my children and grandchildren. This ends with me, it really has too. The fire and desire to end it will allow myself to change and become that person in my family that achieves success and paves the way for future generations to be able to overcome their challenges also. I want to say that racism and discrimination will go away. But as a woman of color and my experience. Sadly, it won't but I won't allow that drama to affect my peace any longer.

As an Indigenous Public Figure I donate a percentage of my earnings per month to Indigenous Artists, and Indigenous Initiatives that I feel stand and contribute to the best of Indigenous People throughout the world. Whether Canada, USA or Mexico currently. I am strongly connected to Indigenous throughout North America as we all used to be a part of Turtle Island, previous to settlers renaming it into "Canada, United States of America, and Mexico". I do not brand Indigenous brothers and sisters to any other name but Turtle Island.

At this time, I also use my Social Media Platforms to advocate for Indigenous News, Events and other Information that is important to speak up about to support Indigenous Issues. As I saw an inspiring quote once that said "Your Ancestors did not go through everything they went through for you to be silenced. Your voice is their war cry." Every time I see an Indigenous Issue or Discrimination I need to speak for my Ancestors that were silenced in Residential Schools, or sent into battle. For every woman in my family that suffered from Violence in My Family.

My voice is a tribute to Indigenous Issues, My Culture, and My Indigenous Brothers and Sisters. Hiy Hiy

values
Like

About the Creator

Avril Doucette

Model, Actress and Athlete

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.