Families logo

I Am a Good Mom, Right?

An Excerpt from I Am A Good Mom, Right?: And Other Thoughts from a (Slightly) Overwhelmed Mom of Two Small Boys

By Shelley WengerPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Part of the cover of my book!

If you are looking for a REAL parenting book and not one that makes it smell like roses every day, you are just like me. I love books that are filled with stories and things that are all about real life.

If that is what you are looking for, you need to check out I Am a Good Mom, Right? And Other Thoughts from a (Slightly) Overwhelmed Mom of Two Small Boys.

Here is an excerpt for you to try.

I Am a Good Mom, Right?

Today, as I got out of the shower, I heard a little cry and I had to hold back a scream. With two young boys under nineteen months, I use every second of their combined afternoon nap to shower and work on my freelance writing business. However, they decided to take separate naps today. I barely had time for a quick shower before the little one was back up. I was really not happy, but I am still a good mom.

When I look at my older son’s friends, I notice that they know more words than him. Even though they are a little older, none of them have any siblings yet. Their mothers can spend time working with them instead of waiting to find one-on-one time.

Most days, I struggle to find time to work with my oldest son. I find the best time is when we are out walking. We talk about the animals that we see and I try to work with him so that he knows his body parts.

My children may cry a little bit longer, especially if I am already helping the other one. They may be slightly dirty, especially when we are outside. Yes, I let my seven-month-old crawl on the ground. It’s not like he is actually going to stay on the blanket! He has to follow his big brother.

So, how do I know that I am a good mother? I do not, really. I question myself daily, as I am sure most of you do. I know my friends all worry about it too. So what makes a good mom? You have to love your children and hope they know it.

You spend your time caring for them and you do not mind (most of the time). They are well-adjusted, well-fed, and happy (again, most of the time). You change their diapers and feed them snacks. You walk around with baby spit-up all over your clothes and it is not a problem.

You leave the house way over-prepared. I never leave the house without two outfit changes per child. I even need a separate bag for all of the clothes and toys that I carry around. My stroller basket is full of diapers and wipes, in case we need something while we are out walking.

So, even if you feel like you are not, I am sure that you are a good mom. Even when you are frustrated and just want someone to take your children for an hour so you can get a little peace, stop feeling so bad. We, as moms, need to stop worrying so much about every little thing.

Our children are doing well and we love them. They are fed and happy, which means that we are doing a good job being moms. I am sure that your friends and family will agree. Mine always tell me that I am a good mom.

You are a better mom than you think. I know I am. At least, I hope so.

I hope that you enjoyed my excerpt. I just want to make sure that you don’t feel so overwhelmed and alone. You aren’t. Even as my children grow, I still find myself having days that just feel like too much!

What will you get with this book? Probably more than you ever imagined! I cover a lot of topics, such as baby weight, mom friends, working, staying home, potty training, temper tantrums, and a whole lot more!

If you want to read more, don’t hesitate to head over to Amazon to check it out. It is on sale for 99 cents!

parents
Like

About the Creator

Shelley Wenger

Small town country girl in southern Pennsylvania. Raising two boys on a small farm filled with horses, goats, chickens, rabbits, ducks, dogs, and a cat. Certified veterinary technician and writer at Virtually Shelley.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.