Families logo

How I Stopped Cracking My Knuckles and Found a Better Way to Relieve Joint Pain

By Louis Lee

By health wayPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
Like

I used to love cracking my knuckles. It was a habit that I picked up from my dad, who always did it when he was stressed or bored. I liked the feeling of release and the sound of the pop. It made me feel relaxed and satisfied.

But then I started to hear rumors that cracking your knuckles could cause arthritis. Arthritis is a condition that causes pain and inflammation in the joints. It can affect anyone, but it is more common in older people. My grandma had arthritis, and I saw how much she suffered from it. She could barely move her fingers, and she had to take a lot of medication to ease the pain.

I was scared that I would end up like her if I kept cracking my knuckles. I didn't want to have stiff and swollen joints when I grew older. I wanted to be able to play the piano, type on my laptop, and hold hands with my partner. I wanted to have healthy and happy joints.

So I decided to stop cracking my knuckles. It was hard at first, because it was such a ingrained habit. I had to resist the urge to pull or bend my fingers whenever I felt tense or bored. Sometimes I would catch myself doing it unconsciously, and I would have to stop myself mid-crack. It was frustrating and annoying.

But after a while, I got used to it. I found other ways to cope with stress and boredom, such as meditating, reading, or listening to music. I also learned more about joint health and how to take care of my joints. I discovered that cracking your knuckles does not actually cause arthritis, contrary to popular belief.

According to science, the popping sound when you crack your knuckles is not caused by bones rubbing against each other, but by bubbles forming and collapsing in the synovial fluid, which is the lubricant that surrounds your joints. When you pull or bend your fingers, you create a negative pressure that causes the bubbles to form and then burst. This process does not damage your joints or cartilage.

Several studies have found no link between knuckle cracking and arthritis, and one doctor even conducted a 50-year experiment on himself, cracking the knuckles of his left hand but not his right hand, and found no difference in the development of arthritis between the two hands.

However, this does not mean that cracking your knuckles is completely harmless. Some studies have suggested that habitual knuckle cracking may lead to reduced grip strength, swelling, or injury. It may also annoy the people around you, who may find the sound unpleasant or disturbing.

Therefore, it may be wise to limit or avoid cracking your knuckles, especially if you have any existing joint problems or if it bothers others.

If you are looking for a natural and effective way to relieve joint pain and inflammation, you may want to consider red light therapy. Red light therapy is a non-invasive treatment that uses low-level red and near-infrared light to stimulate healing and reduce pain.

Red light therapy works by activating the mitochondria, which are the energy generators of your cells. This boosts the production of ATP, which is the molecule that stores and transports energy in your cells. More ATP means more energy and efficiency for your cells to repair tissue damage and reduce inflammation.

Red light therapy has been shown to have various benefits for joint health, such as improving blood circulation and oxygen delivery to the joints, increasing collagen synthesis and cartilage regeneration, reducing inflammation and oxidative stress, enhancing mobility and range of motion, decreasing pain and stiffness.

Several studies have found that red light therapy can improve symptoms of osteoarthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, tendinitis, bursitis, and other joint disorders. Red light therapy can also help prevent joint damage by strengthening the muscles and tendons around the joints.

One of the advantages of red light therapy is that you can do it at home, using a device such as a red light therapy belt. A red light therapy belt is a flexible wrap that emits red and near-infrared light therapy from LED bulbs. You can wear it around your waist, knees, elbows, shoulders, or any other joint that needs relief.

The belt is easy to use, comfortable, and safe. You just need to wear it for 10 to 20 minutes a day, depending on your needs and preferences.

Red light therapy belt can help you reduce joint pain and inflammation without any side effects or risks. Unlike medication, red light therapy does not cause any adverse reactions or dependency. Unlike surgery, red light therapy does not require any recovery time or complications. Red light therapy is a natural and gentle way to heal your joints from within.

So next time you feel tempted to crack your knuckles, think twice. Cracking your knuckles may not cause arthritis, but it may not be good for your joints either. Instead of popping your joints, try using red light therapy to soothe them. You may be surprised by how much better you feel.

What do you think about red light therapy for joint pain? Have you ever tried it or would you like to try it? Let me know in the comments below! I would love to hear from you! 😊

valuesparentshow tochildrenadvice
Like

About the Creator

health way

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.