Families logo

How I started a star shower

and lived to tell about it

By Katherine LovellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3

To the Sun I said please don’t get me out of bed! I can already feel the tickle of your bright light.

To the Moon I said please don’t make me go to bed I’m not ready and can’t you see the Sun is still ticking me.

The moon to me turned and said “you better run quick little one and it’s off to bed”.

Feeling more like a child than ever I kicked my slippers off and they hit the side table and fell down on the floor. Knocking over my hot chocolate and spilling and spilling faster ever more.

Jumping up in great haste I run towards the door stepping in hot chocolate and sliding across the rug I have laid on my floor. Trying to catch my balance and not looking down a slipper is what my foot found. Tripping with no grace and flying off into a not so comfortable place. Oh my! I exclaim as I lay on the floor and think to myself “humph, well this place sure needs a good scrubbing” !! Let me think on that a little later on some more.

Landing very hard on my face, hands and knees all hit the floor like a, well there isn’t really a nice way to put this, like a slab of cold meat!! Imagine me on the floor barefoot lying in hot chocolate with my nightgown somehow choking me due to the way I was laying on it so firmly and my arm had somehow come out of one side so as to be acting like a noose in my case.

Now, now, now...no! I did not perish in this spectacular self induced temper tantrum fit that caused me to have an almost fatal accident. I lived to tell the tale. Thank goodness for you or you never would have heard such a ridiculous story and laughed about it, eh hem, at my expense. That is okay it is hilarious and true and that makes it so much more funny.

I wonder did the Sun see me before he went off to brighten the rest of the world? Probably, I’ll just bet that he did so right away. Yes, you say knowing my luck. That’s okay, here is Saturn to tell as he whizzes by and they will have a great good laugh, as well, at my expense. That is okay, it is hilarious and true and that is what makes it so much more funny.

I don’t mind if the Sun tells Saturn as he whizzes by and if Saturn whispers to Venus as she fixes her stance. Laughing so hard she almost loses her balance. Seeing the commotion from so far away that her sister’s in Orion yell what is so funny today.

Well, you have already heard the almost fatal story of how I kicked my slippers off then spilled my hot chocolate then tripped over the rug then the slippers, causing me to almost choke to death with my own nightgown that yes I was wearing at the time of the almost fatal accident.

So did Orion’s Belt... they all laughed so hard it caused a star shower from millions and millions of bits and tiny pieces falling from the solar system as the laughed, at my expense. That is okay it is hilarious and true and that is what makes it so much more funny.

It is okay to make mistakes just be prepared to pay for them. It is okay to laugh at yourself as long as you learn from it. However, laughing at the cost of someone else is just not funny. It could cause a star shower and you could kick your slippers off and spill your hot chocolate and trip on your rug and then your slippers and you could fall down and almost choke yourself with your own nightgown. Funny things happen to me said the Earth to the Moon. Moon replied “ I know little one that is how your learn”.

Earth replied to the Sun laugh away that is how I learn.

Earth replied to the Moon thank you my old dear friend for not laughing at me.

literature
3

About the Creator

Katherine Lovell

just another soul searcher

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Tremonti 2 months ago

    Wow. Really, Really, Really, Really, good 💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.