Families logo

How a disappointing Childhood led to a happy Adulthood

Yes. Empathy.

By Amby O AsonyePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
How a disappointing Childhood led to a happy Adulthood
Photo by Lidya Nada on Unsplash

Is it appropriate to call your childhood disappointing when you know your parent tried their best?

Its an ethics thing or should I say something to do with morals.

On one hand, I was disappointed a lot.

On the other hand, it wasn't her fault.

Although, when you are a child, you can't help but take it personal.

By Johnny Cohen on Unsplash

As a single parent, my mum really tried her best. Looking back, my childhood wasn't unpleasant, even though it felt like that at the time. I had really good food, love, shelter, warmth, protection, everything a child needs. Emphasis on the "NEEDS" because I very rarely got what I wanted.

I wanted a bike, a PlayStation (which I eventually got many years after), nice trainers, a smartphone, to go on trips or outings etc. Did I mention I was a single child? Yeah... a lot of people were always saying lucky you, you must be so spoilt. I got envied by my peers who had to share a lot with their siblings and I rubbed it in.

By Artem Page on Unsplash

I took the opportunity to place myself on higher pedestal than I deserved. Claiming to be this and that. Man I told a lot of lies. Like when I said I had a twin brother and everyone believed me. Big LOL. I tried to make myself look cool. Hiding behind a mask of privilege but secretly hurting from disappointment.

It's not that I wasn't cared for. I was promised a lot of the things mentioned above for my birthdays and Christmas, and when I did well in school. Then I'll wait, and wait, and keep waiting, and waiting... for the present that I knew deep down below was wishful thinking. But I kept hoping.

By Hert Niks on Unsplash

Then I had friends who would help me out and then use that a leverage to try to pressure me into doing something they wanted me to do. I never did realise that this was reality. Only through this experience that I realised that nothing is free. Every interaction is a transaction. Or at least you have to treat it like that.

From these experiences, I learnt two things about life.

1. Don't expect things from others. If it happens, it is a bonus.

2. Every interaction is a transaction. Make sure you can deal with fulfilling your part of the bargain before entering.

These are the principles in life, amongst others, that I have adopted, and the secret to my happy adult life. Now you might think I sound pessimistic, and indeed I do. However, pessimism, as I have noticed, is arguably a reality of life. It's not anyone's fault. Everyone has enough worries of their own to keep you in their mind all day. In my case, I had a single mother who worked full time, provided for me, did all the expenses, and even though I did not always get what I wanted, I never lacked.

By Ming Jun Tan on Unsplash

I look around at people getting angry at each other, couples fighting, friends quarrelling, families separating, even strangers brawling. The common theme is always that someone didn't do what was expected of them. And indeed disappointment hurts. It is painful, but when you remember that no one wakes up in the morning and plans on how to disappoint you, you will reach a level of enlightenment that brings happiness, tolerance and most importantly, empathy.

Yes. Empathy.

Putting yourself in the other person's shoes is a very valuable trait that will not only result in you being a better person but also being a better friend, partner, brother, sister, parent.

By Anthony Fomin on Unsplash

So, looking at all of this, I'm happy because I focus on giving out happiness rather than receiving it because I have no expectations of others. Disappointment is one of the lessons I learnt as a child. It has made me a better person. It has made me a happy Adult.

I would love to know your thoughts on this. Send me an email at [email protected]

parents
1

About the Creator

Amby O Asonye

I want to share my stories with you

I want to share my struggles with you

I want to share my successes with you

Maybe you can learn from them as I have

Send me an email [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.