Families logo

House

From these things past

By Marie EhlenbachPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
House
Photo by Rusty Watson on Unsplash

House

From these things past.

My grandparents were old and set in their ways. My grandfather built this house in the 1930s. My dad was born in 1932. He was adopted. Although, he didn't know that until he was 21. His name was Stan.

My grandfather was a pool shark. Everybody had something on the side!? Right! He would take his paycheck on Friday night and double it! That was aside from his regular job. He was doing a great thing for his family. It was time for the great depression. My grandfather never took a day off. He was late one time in 30 years. My grandmother forgot to set the clock night before. Boy, she gets a good talking to about that!

They took in kids from the state. My dad was one, he had a sister named Delores. He became adopted. My grandparents couldn't do without him! They were two older boys Adam and Joe. They were the real things. No adoptions for them.

My grandmother was a nurse. If you want to call it that. The books called for some nasty things. The adults and children were getting bumps all over their bodies.

The red, itchy skin rash usually starts on the belly or back and face. Then it spreads to almost everywhere else on the body, including the scalp, mouth, arms, legs, and genitals. The rash begins as many small red bumps that look like pimples or insect bites.

My grandmother used to diagnosis these things. Then put a sign saying "DO NOT ENTER-SMALLPOX." Later there was a small island where the ones who got smallpox lived until they died. So much for being a nurse in those "days."

1967 - to wipe out smallpox once and for all. That year, there were 10 million to 15 million cases of smallpox and 2 million deaths, according to WHO estimates. Yet just a decade later, the number was down to zero.- HISTORY.COM 

My grandfather died when he was 65. My grandmother died many years later, she was 101. She died the year I was out of school. That seems like it was a long time ago. But the years fly by.

My parents and all of us moved into that house.

I remember when I was five or six years old, I used to swing on a tire in the back of the house. I used to love that swing. My brother and I used to fight over it. I gave him a black eye one time. We were fighting over it pushing it back and forth and I pushed it the wrong way and it hit right in the eye!

He had a black eye for Mom and Dad's anniversary. Everyone asked where he got that from? All with a snickered and stuff!

When I got older, it was Prom night! I thought I looked wonderful! I had on a blue satin dress. Pale blue shoes and white gloves. My boyfriend bought me marigold flowers. I walked to the banquet room excepting a rise out of my friends, and there she was! I never thought my blues would turn green light a traffic signal! Angel! That was my boyfriend's old girlfriend. Look who is talking to her! My Alan! He is mine now! I walked up to her and horned right in.

I said to him, ¨That must be some kind of conversation you were having her!¨

He laughed and said, ¨No¨

With that my green light eyes, somewhat like a traffic signal, turn back blue!

Even though it was a beautiful evening. I got my first going steady ring!

When I was home I sat and wonder what kind of tet for tet my grandma and grandpa would have had. Or for that matter, my mom or dad would have a tet or tet. I fell asleep with that on my mind!

By Vlad Sargu on Unsplash





parents
Like

About the Creator

Marie Ehlenbach

I am a single parent. I have one son. I grew up in Chicago, IL and I lived in Washington, DC.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.