Families logo

Hometown Heroes

To my Lovely Wife

By Kristopher Michael CafaldoPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Me and Stephanie

River (Left) and Brena (right)

Amelia

To my lovely wife,

I would not be the person that I am without you. When I first met you two years ago, I had no idea that I would become the man that I am. When I first met you at Snugg’s Harbor in New Paltz, I thought to myself, “Who is that cute girl sitting at my table?” not knowing that it was the table you usually sat at when you went there. I was playing a show and you had told me that you were here to see this band, not knowing that I was the other member. So, on a foggy night, out of the blue, against all the signs that told you to stay home, you came out because somehow—someway, you knew I’d be there. When the night was over and it was time to leave, I asked you for a hug, and when our bodies met for the first time, I knew that I could not live without you.

After that, we went out on a date to climb a frozen mountain together and that night sealed the deal. I was struggling so much with depression and other mental illnesses, as well as a drug problem, so when I made the decision to come live with you, I knew it was the right thing to do. Now, we own a house together with 3 lovely cats (about to be 4). I rose up to the responsibilities that owning a house brings: bills, maintenance, repairs (and boy were there a lot of those), but I was not afraid of any of it. I happily accept those responsibilities and this chance to build a life together. I left behind my stupor and started to work on myself.

Through you, I learned what it means to be open and vulnerable. Having someone to share everything with—including a traumatic past that used to cause me shame and guilt—was so foreign to me. I knew that I could trust you completely. You let me know that I was safe and that everything would be okay and that our love would only grow by sharing the things that make us scared and depressed. I have never felt the way I do when I am with you.

You taught me values that I never dreamed of having, like the importance of making a life for yourself, being self-employed, staying committed no matter what. I will always have your back and I know that you offer me the same. That’s really rare to find in a person. There is a level of selflessness that you have that inspires me to the nth degree. You make me feel that anything is possible and I try really hard to let you know the same.

You were there for me when my mom passed away at the age of 42. She had a lifelong battle with multiple sclerosis, and the relationship I had with her was strained. If I didn’t have you to rely on, I don’t know how that would have affected me. You kept me going, and her passing made me realize just how sacred our time together really is. That’s why I try to make the most out of everything we do together. Being self-employed has allowed us to spend nearly all of our time together. Out of the two years we’ve been together, we’ve been apart for no more than several hours. That’s not something a lot of people do, and I love you all the more. I love you more and more each day and I know that we will continue to grow exponentially.

Our home is the most beautiful home. To our first Christmas trees that we decorated together, to the delicious food we make together every night, to the apple orchards and beautiful sunsets that we get to experience, I couldn't dream of a more beautiful place, nor a more beautiful person to share it with.

Thank you so much for letting me know that my life has a tremendous value—that I can be the most important thing to the best human being that I know is truly an honor. Thank you for helping me grow into a better person.

Yours truly,

Kristopher

Our First Christmas Tree

One of our many yummy dinners

married
Like

About the Creator

Kristopher Michael Cafaldo

A writer interested in all things human. From psychology to poetry, anything that makes you think hard and feel even harder.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.