Families logo

Hobo Aquarium

Handbag Village

By Satu MyyryPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1
On the road

Something sounded fishy, when listening in on to my neighbours talking over ths fence. It sounded like the landlords were trying to move people out of their homes, to make way for their greed. The area I lived in was not very flash, but the rent was going up, in a hope to squeeze us out.

I was worried, what was I to do. It would have been nice to own my own home, so I could decorate it with fantastic things. The latest item I just bought was a small aquarium with three beautiful gold fish. I would love have wall to wall aquariums if I could, but that meant somewhere permanent, as it is hard to move huge fish tanks. The thought of walking through my own house, and saying hello to all my aquatic friends, as I stroll room to room. There would be all kinds of fish, and crabs, starfish, and whatever else I could find to look after forever.

I had to do some brainstorming, if only I had huge amounts of money to start my project. I was imagining glass covered watery walls fillled with life, all through my new own home. But I had to do something fast, the neighbours were worried, and so am I. So I go through all my things, looking for ideas and clues. Then I come accross an old plastic handbag, and my thoughts started to wander. What if..... I thought. So proceed to dig in my box of things I have collected for years, and I find some fluffy material.

Now I have an idea, and no time to think if it will be any good, I thought "JUST DO IT ". And with that idea, I started to glue on some of my fluffy white material around the top of my old plastic handbag. It looked fabulous. So the next day, I packed a bag to go on the road to search for ideas. You can't wait at home for things to happen you know. I filled my tiny old car with everything I might need for my road journey. Not sure where I was going, but you have to start somewhere.

So now I take my final items from the house, and fill my plastic, fluffy topped handbag with some aquarium water and my three gold fish, Ruby, Crystal and Sparkles. Yes, I finally named them, of the top of my head. I need to be able to call their name when I wanted to talk to them on the road. They look really Awesome in my Hobo Aquarium. I was really impressed with myself, and that gave me a ton of confidence.

So now me and my three golden girls are hitting the road on a mission, not sure yet where, but I did feel confident. I also thought ahead and mapped out some aquarium stores to stop in for supplies for my fishy friends. And not knowing where or how, but I had loads of faith, and drove on. I felt like I was in a Fairytale, on a quest, and that felt good.

Driving for a few hours, we get to coastal town, there is a bay, where there is a small beach, and it runs into a huge river that goes out to the open ocean. So beautiful, so I thought we should camp here for the night. I pull out mt tent, and set it up, a place for me to sleep and my goldfish girls. We get something to eat, I found an delicious vegetarian pizza, and it was devine, I felt so good after it, I needed something wholesome. The girls had their fishfood.

So I get woken up next morning, by some seagulls singing their tunes, I do love seagulls, with their red beaks and feet, like they had make up on. I think they look classy. I look at my map and see the local aquarium is just down the road from where I camped. So I pack up, and go get some breakfast of crumbed garlic mushrooms with potato and corn fritters, and a super yummy green tomato relish. A coffee and orange juice, and I was ready for the world.

I decide to first go down to the small local beach and check it out. I pull up with my car, take my golden girls with me, in their boho aquarium, which looks a little hobo, but, no worries, I will act confident, and people will see that. My little hobo aquarium seemed to attract a lot of attention, as I was making my way down to the beach. It was getting exciting, wondering where this would go. Beachgoers were asking questions, and I was answering them as best as I could. I let them hold the bag of gold fish, in their handbag aquarium, they even opened it and put their finger in, hoping for a nibbble kiss from the fish. It got the people and kids excited and curious.

Now, I was starting to think about what I could benefit from this for my mission, so we would not become homeless. The next day, I set up an aquarium of bigger size from the local aquarium store. I hired it, with lots of water grass, and decorative items, to make it, look fantastic. Kids were my main customers, I charged a small fee to catch some fish and walk around the park in my boho handbag aquarium. It was a real success.

With this idea, I travelled around the coutry side, doing this program. I got discovered by a talent scout, and now I am doing even more programs everywhere. And more different things, and visiting schools. Now I franchise my Hobo Aquarium, my Handbag Village, all on the road, and emlpoying many staff.

So, when things seem down, think about what you can do, and not about what is wrong. I now have my awesome house with all my Hobo themed Aquariums around the place. All from my Handbag Village. I did what I loved, so it didn't seem like work. Just fun effort, and great results.

See you all in the water.

values
1

About the Creator

Satu Myyry

Hello, I was born in Finland, but now an Australian citizen. I write mostly from my life experiences, and the pictures are mostly my own. I hope you enjoy my work.

Please comment on my stories and poems.

Thank you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.