Families logo

Hey Mama Bear,

This cub right here appreciates all your love and care.

By Father AtomPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

My mother is the absolute most influential and impactful woman to ever step into my life. Well, I guess in a way I kind of stepped into hers. Either way, she’s kept me nurtured and strong and has taught me how to navigate life and handle even the most difficult of situations with confidence. I know that this short story that I’ve created can’t truly express all the gratitude that I have for you. It can’t repay you for all the time and resources you spent trying to raise me, but it just goes to show how influential and supportive you are of me emotionally and creatively. Thank you, for everything. I love you mom.

Hey Mama Bear,

The seasons are changing again, aren’t they? All that porridge you’ve cooked, all the beds you’ve made, you did it all for us. Just the way we liked it too. You always gave us your best, even when you felt your worst. Like when Papa got shot, by that mean old hunter with his little blonde daughter, you lost yourself but kept us together.

Warm clothes in the winter, hot plates when it’s cold. You always kept our hopes up, you always kept us bold. But now you're getting old and your coat has greyed. So here I stand today, owing you my life, a priceless debt that I can never truly repay.

Through action and through words you cared for us day to day. You’re my best friend, my hero and some who I can say, I adore and look up to each and every day. Though one day you will be gone, my memory will never fade, here in my heart you hold a very special place. No I won’t go crazy and get carried away by tattooing your name all over my face, but while you’re still here, I will say, I’ll make it my duty to reciprocate all the love that you gave to me and our family every single day.

Fresh salmon from the river

You supplied all the necessities and gave all you could spare. You’ve raised me from a cub to become a big strong bear. One who could survive on my own, winter to summer, spring to fall, everything I needed you taught it all. Right from wrong and how to be fair. I couldn’t ask for a better mother, you were always there.

No one knows the struggle you went through, you didn’t let it show. Through rain and hail, sleet and snow, you kept us sheltered and you did it on your own. You kept our hopes up, you helped us grow. You kept us on our feet, and told us to stand proudly on our toes. You didn’t have much but your love surely showed.

A mother’s burden is much to bare, but no burden too tough for you mama bear. Packs of evil roamed our forests at night, they came not to visit but instead looking for prey to fill their appetite. You held them back but it left you scared. You taught us a lesson, to protect what’s ours.

Comfort in your den

The shelter you provided always saved our hides. This family tree has roots that run deep, stand up for each other and stand with pride. Earn the people’s trust and never lie. Deception only leads to you living a false life. Too much bravado and too little sympathy, an abundance of empathy and a trace apathy, find the balance and understand the meaning behind the words that you are speaking.

The wilderness is a very scary place, but through your guidance and all of your good grace, we made it out, we made our escape. You did it mom, even when they said you can’t. For all your hardships, and all the wait you kept us strong and off that hunters plate.

I love you mama bear and all that you’ve done. You’ve inspired me, your only son. Of all the women in my life, you truly are number one.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Father Atom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.