Families logo

Haunted school

Muskowekwan First Nations

By Jana MorinPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Haunted Schools

Muskowekwan First Nation School

The school was built in 1932. It was built for the reason to incorporate Native families to have their children put within these school walls and taken away from their families to live there and have an education. Most of the children, Cree and Seaulteaux heritage spoke their language at home. The school was run by the Canadian government and the teachers and facilitator were a priest and nuns sent in by the government and Roman Catholic church.

There is a sordid and sad history to these schools. In about 1930’s – 1940’s there was a tuberculosis outbreak. There were houses built on the surrounding property of the school to house the cooks, maintenance, boiler workers, and laundry workers. In the Lestock, Saskatchewan church records, you can find history of what happened to all those people there. They were almost gone overnight. There were women, men and children and children of the school that perished in the outbreak. You can feel the sad history. Many people out of curiosity go there as a dare to spend an hour or two to see or hear if they can see anything. The school has a high concentration of negative energy of the paranormal kind.

I also have gone there just to see if I could see or hear anything. My children and their friends did capture on video a girl in a white gown walking across the room. Chairs were sliding across the room on their own and spirits mimicking others. The scariest moment was when my dog was taken in 2017. The children were there on their own and one child came back crying and said to me, “They took her and said to leave!!”. I jumped in my van, took a rope, ladder and a chain. I wasn’t sure what to expect when I got there. When I got there, my dog was whimpering in an old 10 foot well that had dried up. The well was covered with a wooden pallet. How could she get down there on her own? We figure that one of the spirits put her down there. She had no broken bones at all!! It was getting dark, so I had to move quickly. I had a flashlight and shined it down. It was amazing that going down the well was an old set of metal stairs, half way down, there was a water pipe. Scared out of my wits, I went down first. I asked for the ladder. As I climbed down to the bottom of the well, my dog was terrified. I could feel an icy cold wind chilling me to my bones. All the hairs on my body stood up. The ground floor felt like there was water just underneath still. It felt that any sudden movement would make the dirt floor give away and I and my dog Sugar would be sucked into the depths underneath. The dog was fine but scared. I consoled her and was talking to her to calm her down. I picked her up and tried to walk her up the ladder with me behind her. She was so terrified, she jumped down and whimpered. I told her, “we have one more chance to do this girl, c’mon, it will be okay girl, I got you.” So I tried again, on the water pipe, 2 of my children were waiting. We got her up to that level, I am strong so I said “Hold her and I will come up and help you”. I got up to the water pipe and we pushed her up to the boy on the top level. When I looked up, I swear, I saw a huge man hovering over the boy on the top, ready to push him into the 10 foot water well. In my mind, I screamed, “Don’t you dare, I will come up there and find you and banish you forever.” The figure must of heard me and slowly backed away. We finally got Sugar to the boy on top, and we all quickly got out of there fast!! I grabbed my ladder and put the wood pallet back so no other animals would fall in. Before I left, I said to the spirit, “Don’t follow us”. My heart was racing all the time I was there. I have never gone back and Sugar is still with us 4 years later.

Jana R. Morin

humanity
1

About the Creator

Jana Morin

My first passion has been to write. The second passion is to travel. I wonder if I would be able to join those two together and make a new career change in my life? My family is important to me...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.