Families logo

Happy Halloween

It's that time again, and the pets are just so thrilled. Maybe not, but I know we are.

By Paige KostyniukPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
2
Rolly & Polly Halloween 2019

Halloween is that time of the year to have fun with your family and your friends, and sometimes those friends are the furry kind. Our two pups were the lucky ones and they got to dress up with the kids. I'm not sure if they were as pleased as the kids, but they looked precious. I wasn't sure what to do with the little one since he was a bit too small for the costume he got, but instead, when Rolly climbed into the plastic pumpkin and peeked out of the top, we all decided that he had to be the little treat in the pumpkin.

The two pups, Rolly and Polly had no clue what they had in store, but it was all about the Trick or Treating throughout the neighborhood. That whole evening was filled with kids running up to the pups, and Rolly didn't last long in his pumpkin, but Polly carried that pumpkin for a while until he decided that he had enough carrying it around and dropped it. We went through the neighborhood with the pups, and my son loved all the attention.

I think my son loved the attention more than Rolly and Polly did, even though I had to carry Rolly. His little legs could not keep up and I was not going to let him roam around, scared to lose the little guy. So, mom's job was to carry Rolly and the bag of candy while the kid ran up to the doors and got his candy. After about an hour and a half of walking and carrying, I was getting tired. I had to let the furry ones use the washroom a few times and had to run into a store for bottled water for the furry friends. My son was still all excited and didn't want the night to end, but after so long, he did give up the Trick or Treating and then the long walk back to the vehicle. Let me say, it was a long way back. I think we walked that night a couple of miles and then back to the vehicle, it had to be a few miles.

It is all about the kids though, and parents all around the world probably go through what I did with their kids. It's a lot of fun, I even have fun during Halloween. I get to do the costumes and paint the faces, get all the candy ready for home and let a friend give out candy when I am not able to. He gets to see all the costumes that come to our house and sometimes, we even get to see through our phones when he sends us a pic.

People are really creative this time of the year, the imaginations that go into some of the costumes are truly amazing. The time and money that people spend at Halloween is something else too. I know for us to buy the candy it was about $200 and that's just the candy part. Then there are the decorations that cost another few hundred dollars if you really go all out, and we do every year. The Halloween boxes just keep adding up every year.

It's a lot of fun putting them up all the decorations, but when it is time to take it all down again and pack them all up, or wrap them, or wind them up and remove the batteries, it really does add up. I never realized how many crazy decorations I had until unpacking and packing them again. It takes more time putting everything away than hanging it all up.

Then let's not forget about the batteries. The batteries for some of the decorations were crazy, the number of batteries that had to go into some of the light up or motion decorations shocked me. I was looking at least nine the most in some of the motion ones. But I am thankful that it's just for a week and then it's time to shut them off and take the batteries out. Use them for other things around the house. I guess it does benefit in the end, and that helps a lot, since Halloween is over the next expensive celebration is Christmas, but that is for another time and another story.

When everyone is at home finally, after the long walk of Trick or Treating, and the furry friends got a good workout too. They couldn't wait to get home and layout on their beds in the living room. They both deserve it, they each had their own fuzzy pillow and usually, the little one would sneak over and climb on with the big one and curl up together and sleep. My son too had a good workout, he wanted to check out his candy with me before eating anything and then he was planning to crash in his bed and dream about all the candy he had gotten.

The pumpkins that we all carved, looked awesome alongside the staircase outside. The little candles were glowing inside the pumpkins for hours and hours. They didn't go out until the early dawn. I am a night owl and I go outside to have a cigarette ever so often, so I noticed the glowing of the squished faces from the wilting pumpkin heads.

I and the hubby stayed up watching scary movies and then he crashed out on the couch. I had to laugh, he crashed out with a chocolate bar piece in his hand. It was melting fast, but I couldn't touch his hand, if I did I was sure that he's smear it somewhere and that wouldn't good. But it was funny, and I even got a picture of him sleeping with this half-eaten chocolate bar. It was really cute, when I told him the next day about it, he says to me, "Hunny when I woke up and seen the chocolate in my hand, I had no choice but to eat it. I didn't want to make a mess." I had to laugh even harder, thinking in my head and imagining him eating this melted chocolate from his warm hand. It had to be awful to eat. All warm and gooey.

I think the pups slept all night too. We didn't get bothered all night to take them outside for them to do their business, I am pretty sure they slept through the night. I was the only one that didn't sleep much. Polly was the brave lion and Rolly was the treat in the pumpkin. These two pups have been best friends ever since Rolly came home and I was really worried about Polly and how he'd react to this furball? Looks good to me, doesn't it?

Next year it's the cats turn to get dressed up. The pups both had enough of dress-up for the year. Polly is like a lion, he's like a man-eater when it comes to protecting his family. Rolly, well, he's just cute. He doesn't do much, but follows Polly all around and taking tips on how to be top dog one day. I'm assuming that is what is going on when the two of them are out and about. Halloween was great, and the pups had fun, seen a lot of kids, my son had a blast, like always. Candy for another year. Our dentist will be so pleased.

As a child, I had the worst sweet-tooth and yet I have not had a cavity or filling or anything. I am so pleased with that though. I can't stand going to the dentist, they have too many weird things that make a lot of noise and those big lights that blind you. Wear that silly bib and have your mouth pride open with that mouth opening device. Halloween is great and a lot of fun. I can't wait till next year, and since the cat won't be walking like the pups, it might be just me and my son.

All the memories and pictures I have taken of everyone is going in the scarpbook. I had started this scarpbooking thing about 12 years ago now. I have tons and tons of pictures of all of us. Different times in our lives and the kids are much younger. The memories that will continue but now we have our furry family to get on the fun, like it or not. Happy Halloween everyone, and be safe.

immediate family
2

About the Creator

Paige Kostyniuk

I am a single mom with only one left in the nest. I grew up in a little country town before moving to the big city. I have always wanted to be a writer and travel around the world. I am a big fan of horror movies; the scarier the better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.