Families logo

Happy Father's Day

A Retrospective

By From the Mind of NobodyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Happy Father’s Day to all you dads, uncles, granddads, stepdads and dad-figures out there. I was going to go into a rant about how undermarketed and underwhelming this day gets compared to Mother’s Day. Mother’s Day is in May and you start seeing a wide variety commercial toward that day in the beginning of April for flowers, jewelry, restaurants, cars and cruises. On Father’s Day you don't see commercials for this day until the beginning of the month and we get the SAME three commercials for fishing equipment, shaving supplies and motor oil. Speaking of restaurants, on Mother’s Day most restaurants have lines of people going out the door into the next block as if they their going to see Avengers Endgame. On Father’s Day, you might as well have tumbleweed fly across the front door like an old western ghost town. It also doesn’t help that for over 20 plus years, daytime television keeps hammering the fact that fatherhood truly begins when one man gets at least two women pregnant, denies both babies and Maury Povich makes the proclamation that “You are the father!’ Please don’t get me wrong, mothers deserve all the adulation, love and gifts (love you mommy) but can fathers get some love too…AAAHHHHHHHHH…. but I won’t do that.

Happy Father’s Day (Really)

Happy Father’s Day to my first superhero, my role model and one of my first teachers (hi mom, love you) my dad. My dad is the total package of intelligence, cool, charm, cunning with the right mix of don’t screw with me attitude (think Samuel L. Jackson with a cool African accent). I loved hanging out with my dad when I was a kid. I loved the time we spent watching football, basketball, wrestling and working on his car. I’ve spent summers going to different countries, Kings Dominion, Bush Gardens and even Disney World but when I think of the best summer I ever had as child it was when I spent the entire summer going to work with my dad. I have never felt so happy to get up so early in the morning to go to work since. He taught me that a man’s character and his name is more valuable than his possessions. He taught me to open my mind to new things and that education is not just limited to the classroom. Even at my advance age, I still want to be like him when I grow up. I'm so thankful that my dad is still with me today, so we can still talk about football, wrestling, politics and get I can pull some wisdom to help me in my journey in fatherhood.

My Journey

Now Father’s Day holds a very special meaning for me not just because of my dad but I found out I was going to be a father. Like something out of a Tyler Perry movie; my wife and I were under the belief that we couldn’t have a child due to medical issues. We were content to just being aunt and uncle and living out our lives, however, after a couple of weeks of my wife not feeling to well she decided to take an at home pregnancy test, which came up positive. After a trip to the emergency room which not only confirmed she was about six weeks pregnant, but we also got a wonderful picture of our miracle’s little foot and hand (more proof that there is a higher power). I remember calling home and telling my dad that he was going to be grandpa for the fourth time (can’t top that gift). I remember hearing the joy and pride in his voice as he congratulated my wife and I. I also got my first Father’s Day gift that day as my mother-in-law took my wife and I out to lunch to celebrate (and yes there was no line to wait and there were plenty of tables available) and she mention to the waitress I just found out I was going to be a daddy and I got a free steak (cool).

I’ll talk about my adventures of an Autism dad at a later date but let me just say that being a dad is the greatest and hardest job I’ve ever had. I’m so proud of my son and although my bonding experiences may be different from what I expected, I cherish every moment with him. Happy Father’s Day again to all you fathers in all forms and no matter how undermarketed this holiday may be or how the role of the father may be perceived, you are appreciated, and you do make a tremendous impact.

parents
Like

About the Creator

From the Mind of Nobody

The whimsical, unusual and sometimes brilliant rantings on a variety of topics, from comics to sports, from a complete nobody with nothing to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.