Families logo

Growing Up Without A Mom Pt. 2

Just Me

By Krista NakanoPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

As an adult now, I feel lost and I feel like my life was built around lies. Those lies might have been to keep me safe so that I wouldn't get hurt, but did it really? If you read my previous story, you'll understand.

Now, to the actual story that happened...

As far as my parents getting divorced, that was true. As to the reasons they got divorced, that was not. I was told all my life, up until maybe 2-3 years ago, that was the reason my parents divorced. Only to find out, everything I was probably told growing up was not. As you can tell my childhood was not sunshine and butterflies, was I a happy child? Yes, for the most part. Did I get everything I wanted? Yes, for the most part. Was I raised in a good household? Yes, for the most part. However, how my life started and changed in a matter of years, is nowhere near happy and normal...

In the beginning years of my life, I spent time with my mother and my siblings. I stayed weekends with my mom, since she did not have custody of me. I remember those days vividly, a lot is a blurr. Honestly, I don't know what is truth and what is a dream/lie. I do know and remember that I was happy. I remember laughing with my mom and just enjoying being with her. Those are the memories, I hold on to and cherish because those are one of the last times I spent with my mom, physically. When she left and moved to the East coast, I did not understand, as a child how could anyone. I honestly thought that she didn't love me, for a long time. I took everyday as it came, going to school, being a normal kid, but what does normal even mean? I grew up with a family of relatives, not my parents. For most that is not normal and for me, that was my normal. I watched other kids with their parents, being happy, I was definitely envious. Can I say I had a loving household? Depends on what you consider loving I guess. My family's way of showing love was buying gifts and giving me everything I wanted. There was no I love you's, there was no hugs, they did not show affection. Their ways of affection were monetary. As I got older, that did affect me a lot, but I'll get into that later.

Lets fast forward, when I was maybe 11-12, I found out that my mom was dying. She had lung cancer. There was no cure, there was nothing she could do, yes she was a smoker. I was devastated at the news, even though I barely knew this person. How could I be devastated for someone I didn't know? For someone I barely remember? Looking back, I honestly don't know. I do know that I felt even more empty, I knew I would loose her sooner than later and it left a bigger hole than the one that was already there. The years went by, every month I got a phone call from her. Every birthday, every Christmas, every major holiday (that a gift was given), she sent me one. She was still trying to be there to best of her ability. Every year that past I could hear her getting worse, her breathing, her voice, everything was changing. I tried to stay strong and didn't talk much to people. I did have a therapist, but that only lasted so long. I got tired of talking, tired of dealing. I just wanted to be left alone. I dealt with things on my own, I was a homebody anyway and didn't socialize much. I stayed home, played video games, just lived in my own little bubble. As far as my family was concerned, I was a normal hormonal teenager and left me be for the most part. They didn't ask questions, they didn't ask if I was ok, they were just...there.

The year I turned 16, my life would forever be changed...

grief
Like

About the Creator

Krista Nakano

Mother of 3

Car Enthusiast

CrossFitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.