Families logo

Growing up

My mum has taught me so much

By Tanika StimpsonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
3
Growing up
Photo by Taylor Gilmore on Unsplash

Growing up my mum had taught me to never give up. My mum was a young single mum, she had fell pregnant at the age of 16 and gave up on her goals to raise a family.

As I got older I had used the skills my mother had taught me by never giving up when things get hard, she taught me to pick things up and try, try again. When I had became a single mum myself I continued to pursue my goals and dreams, I didn't break down when my son was diagnosed with diabetes instead I had picked things up and learned howto deal with diabetes on my own, I then continued with my studies completed my diploma in Early Childhood Education whilst I was breast feeding and once I had finished my diploma I gad enrolled into University whilst stressing out over my sons sugars to the point of no sleep. I then continued with my studies while searching for ways to help my son (Jaxon) and even though fundraising on my own got tough I never gave up on fundraising for Jaxon’s diabetes assistance dog. The only time I had broke down crying was when someone harmed my son. Which I will share later after court.

In 2019 I had planned a trip to Disneyland with my son to be able to go in March 2021, but due to Covid 19 we are unable to go. I then used the travel credit so all the money I had put on our Disneyland trip I transferred it over to a Gold Coast holiday to visit our Smartpups and to celebrate Jaxon’s 5th birthday.

On the 29th of August Jaxon and I will be travelling by plane to the Gold Coast for a holiday on the beach, and a couple of surprises to help celebrate Jaxons birthday. This will also show Jaxon that there is goodness in life too after being diagnosed with diabetes 2 years ago and from being harmed by someone. (something I will share after court)

We are so excited that we only have $2000 to go on our fundraiser and we are going to visit the Smartpups training grounds, visit Australia Zoo, visit the theme parks on the gold coast and Jaxon wants to visit the beach and go for a swim in the pool.

If you would like to help us get to our goal please visit this link. https://www.smartpups.org.au/campaigns/smart-pup-for-jaxon-38216/

To try to get to the last $2000 we are going to sell Jolly soles.

During this time it has showed me that not only has my mum taught me to never give up but she has taught me how to be the best I can be. My mum is my inspiration to be the best mum I can be.

Please join our Facebook group to watch our adventures with Smartpups and to see his pup he will be getting. https://www.facebook.com/groups/2663157740661525/?ref=share

parents
3

About the Creator

Tanika Stimpson

My name is Tanika im a single mum to a beautiful boy. My blogs are about mine and my son’s life. My son and I are currently doing this while fundraising for JDRF by doing the JDRF One Walk.

We will be sharing updates on my son’s service dog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.