Families logo

Green Means Go

Cherish your gifts

By Samirra ElsaiehPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
3
Green Means Go
Photo by Alex Middleton on Unsplash

Most people don’t realize how much a gift they are or what a gift of a person they have until it‘s either too late or it catches them by surprise. I have always been taught that gifts are to be cherished and sometimes nurtured. So many people nowadays have forgotten how to do that. So, I’ve been sent to help them remember.

My day starts pretty early just about everyday. I’m usually already up by the time the first morning doves have stretched their wings and began their morning songs. I watch as they fly past my window, making a slight noise that sounds like a squeak with every flap. It makes me laugh to thing they may need a little oil to get their gears going.

I shower and do my morning routine as the aroma of fresh hazelnut flavored coffee fills my tiny apartment. I sip my coffee as I wait for my toast to pop up, scrolling through my phone for my next assignment. As I’m buttering my toast, I get my first ping. Time to get to work.

Ride share apps are a great way to get around the city, but they are also a good way to meet so many different people. Someone knew what they were doing when they gave me this as a “cover” job. It makes my assignment so much easier. I get dressed, go downstairs, hop into my minivan and head out.

I arrive to the location of my first customer, a husband, wife, their son and two daughters, on their way to the airport. I press the button on the dash for the back doors and the trunk to open and then I get out to help them all load up.

”Good morning everyone!” I say in a cheery voice, ”Allow me to help you get that luggage in the back.”

They all look like they are NOT in the mood to be cheerful. After an awkward silence, some eye rolls and a couple of people sucking their teeth, we got everything loaded and the family started to get in. I just go to back to the driver’s seat and wait for them to get in.

Immediately, the girls bolted for the third row in the back and began to bicker about who would get to sit there.

”You always sit in the back!” shouted the younger one, trying to push her way to the back.

“That’s because I’m older and I get first dibs!” the older one shouted back, holding her arm up to block her sister’s way.

“Y’all need to stop already.” the brother says as he sits in the seat behind me, never even looking up from the game he’s playing on his phone.

”It’s way too early for all of this fussing girls!” the mother yells at them.

She then turns to me, rubbing her temples while closing her eyes and asks, “Do you mind if I sit up front? My husband needs the leg room.”

I just shrugged my shoulders and said ok. The husband got in, sighed, turned to the back and said through gritted teeth,

“Girls. There are two seatbelts on either side. Just sit at either window and buckle in so we can GO!”

That last word made everyone else in the car jump a little and the girls sat and buckled in so quickly, it looked like a blur. This was gonna be a long ride!

Before I pick up my customers, I always “set-up” the car in accordance with the time of day it is. In this case, I had two coolers, onewith water, juice, bottled iced coffee and the other with danishes and snacks. Most times with these early pick-ups, people tend to skip breakfast, so this stuff should hold them until they get to their destination. Everyone grabbed something from each cooler and then other than the sound of wrappers, bottle caps, chewing and drinking sounds, there was no conversation. It’s show time!

I look into the rearview mirror and see that the girls both have their backs to each other, looking out the window. They each had their forehead leaning on the window slightly tilted down. Perfect! I snap my fingers and could instantly see the soft green glow of a light coming from the cup holders back there. They both noticed it, jumped back and turned to hug each other. The older sister cupped the back of the little sister‘s head while the little sister snuggled into her big sister’s chest.

Casually, I said, “Are you alright back there girls?” Neither theor father, mother or brother bothered to turn around.

“We’re ok, I guess.” said the older sister, still holding her little sis.

”There was just some weird green light in the cup holders. It scared us a little.” said the younger sister.

”Oh, really?” I said. They nodded. “Do you mind checking to make sure there are no fireflies or tiny aliens in there, please?”

The girls looked at each other, giggled and said in unison, “Ok!”

They opened the cup holders on their sides and found two small stuffed Pokemon toys. Their eyes lit up when they saw them. They immediately took them out and turned to each other and said, “Look what I’ve got!” At the same time.

They stopped and blinked as they noticed they they each had the other’s favorite character. They again spoke at the same time, ”Wanna trade?!” They laughed, traded toys and played together for the rest of the ride.

The son’s eyes were still glued to his phone the whole time. He was actually watching YouTube videos to figure out a programming problem. The videos sounded like a father and son were explaining everything. It sounded like the son figured out a solution and that caused the son’s eyes to light up. He was about to show his father but hesitated. They seemed distant for some reason. The son waved it off and slumped back into his seat.

I snapped my fingers again and a bright green light light flashed on the son’s phone screen, causing him to drop his phone. He leaned to pick it up but his father had already reached down and grabbed it.

“Here son. Try to be more careful next time.” the father said in a calm voice.

The son said thanks as he reached for his phone. As the father was passing it, he looked down at the screen and pulled his hand back, leaving his son’s hand hanging in the air.

“This... this is it! Son, you found it!” the father said excitedly. The son nodded his head as he sat back in his seat.

”Is this what you’ve been trying to show me?” the father asked. Again the son nodded his head.

“Wow.” The father said after a short pause. “I’m sorry son. I’m sorry for not listening to you,” while patting his son on the shoulder.

”It‘s ok, dad.” the son said.

Then he looked up at his father and asked,

“Can we work on it when we get home?”

The father nodded. He smiled with pride and watched more videos with his son for the remainder of the ride.

Up to this point, the mother still had her fingers rubbing her temples, not realizing the peace that was surrounding her in the car. She had her jaw clenched, shoulders hunched, legs crossed and both feet shaking. Her stress was radiating off of her like heat from a whistling kettle.

I leaned a little toward her and said,

“Just breathe and let it out. In through your nose, out through your mouth. Slowly and steadily. Won’t do you any good keeping it bottled up.”

The mother instantly stopped shaking her feet, uncrossed her legs, relaxed her shoulders, put her hands in her lap and closed her eyes. She took in a deep breath and slowly let it out. Each time she did, not only did a traffic light turn green, but each of her family members said something that they loved about her.

Breath in, Breath out (younger sister): Mama gives the best squishy hugs!

Breath in, Breath out (older sister): She’s the best mama in the world!

Breath in, Breath out (son): She listens to me no matter how crazy my stories sound and I love that!

Breath in, Breath out (husband): I’m so lucky she chose to be in my life!

With the last deep breath, the mother let out a little whimper as a single tear rolled down her cheek. The next light turned green and I announced,

“Well, here we are, La Guardia Airport Gate 8. We should start unloading now.“

I pat the mother on her shoulder and she nods slightly, brushing the tear away.

She looks at me, grabs my hand from her shoulder and gave a little squeeze that send a little shock through me and said,

“Thank you. I don’t think you know how much i really needed that.”

”Oh I do, ma’am. All of you did.” I said.

I winked as a dim green light flashed across my eyes. She didn’t even flinch, but she smiled as she got out of the car.

Everyone unloaded all of their belongings and waved as I began to drive away. But before they went inside, each family member hugged the mother and then rolled their suitcase away.

I love my job! Both of them!

parents
3

About the Creator

Samirra Elsaieh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.