Families logo

Granmumma's Choc Chip Cookies

A not so secret family recipe

By Louise SlyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

My grandma, also known as Mumma or Grandmumma made the best choc chip cookies. I am not bias or anything, they really were the best things that my mouth has ever tasted. She isn't with us anymore, bless her soul, but the family recipe will live on for generations to come (well I hope.)

I know what you are thinking! They just look like your average choc chip cookies, well these ones definitely don't do my grandma justice, because nothing beats grandma's cooking, but trust me when I say the ones, she would make just melted in your mouth. They were chunky and delicious. The secret ingredient was grandma's love, they just aren't the same without it.

My favourite memory as a child would have to be grandma visits. Unfortunately, they weren't too common, due to the fact that she lived in a different state to me and I had to catch a plane to see her, or sometimes the train, but the train took a whole day. On multiple occasions as a kid, I got to travel via plane by myself. I was always filled with excitement because it meant there were a batch of homemade cookies at the end of the trip. We would always bake cookies together, and by bake together, I mean I would run off with the choc chip cookies and try to eat them. She would catch me and say something along the lines of 'you are a silly goose! Save some for the cookies.' You can't blame me; I was only a child and the choc chips were the best part.

My grandma passed on her recipe to her children, who then passed it onto their children. My mum keeps the handwritten recipe in a vintage draw, it is filled with a heap of memories. Every time I visit my mum, which is also not very often, as she lives in a different state to me. I love to look in the draws to remind myself of all my past life experiences. I am reminded of the recipe and make a batch. The smell reminds me of my grandma and the love that she spread to her children and grandma through her cooking. There are a few photos of us scattered in there.

Sometimes, it makes me sad that I won’t ever experience my grandma’s cooking ever again. I haven’t had her home baked cookies since I was a child, but at least I will always remember them. It was one of my favourite things about her. Her house always smelt like home, a place where I always felt save and loved. She never said I love you, but we didn’t need her to say it, we could taste it in her cookies. It was in every bite. Knowing that we loved her cookies, made her smile.

Every family has a ‘secret recipe’, no matter how simple, we still cherish the recipe. That is the good part of families, we all have traditions that we share with each generation that is welcomed into this life. For my family, it was my granmumma’s choc chip cookies, and for all I know it could have been a recipe that has been shared through a number of generations, even before my grandma was born. That is the beauty of family, things continue to pass on down the line, even after a family member’s death. My grandma is not physically with us anymore, but she will live on through our memories, and definitely through her choc chip cookies. I will say it again, they are the best choc chip cookies I have ever tasted. They were filled with so much love and care.

grandparents
1

About the Creator

Louise Sly

My name is Louise. I am a semi-functional adult that can usually be found with a book in one hand and a glass of wine in the other. A graduate of a Bachelor of Creative Writing at RMIT. I have several short pieces published in an Anthology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.