Families logo

Girls can play too

Girls can play like boys too

By JESSICA HICKSPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Okay, I am going to start this out with a question. Just because you have a daughter should she not be allowed to play in creeks, mud, or play with cars?

I ask this for a reason. My daughter is in the photo above. We planned on a fun princess photoshoot with some beautiful water flowing in the background, well this photo shoot quickly turned into her playing the creek in her princess dress. I couldn't help but make this a shoot of its own.

After posting these photos to my social media of what I thought was beautiful and playful I was attacked over them. People were telling me I need to learn to be a better mother to a little girl and learn how to be a mother to a little girl. I was also told there is is no sense that I allowed my three-year-old little girl to play in creeks that's for little boys to do.

Okay! Please enlighten me if I am wrong, but where is this so-called book that states what is right and wrong for boys and girls do? So where is it wrote that it is wrong for little boys to play with dolls or want to help cook, and help in the garden with mommy? Where does it say it is wrong for a little girl to play with car and play in a creek?

Things like this can really cause a lot of damage to a child. Who are we to tell our sons that he can't play with dolls or wear dresses and our daughters need to stay clean, dress cute, and with everyone in place. We tell our children we don't want them to judge others before they know them; however, we teach them it is okay to do so at a young age.

I am the type of mother if my daughter wants to play in water, mud, or race cars then she is more then welcome to do so. I refuse to take my child's innocents, so with that being said will sit back and watch her amaze me with the innocents we use to share as a child but somehow grew out of.

Watching a child is such a beautiful thing seeing them play and be who they really are and show you who they are becoming is something that I can do all day.

They aren't going to small forever let them play let them see who they want to be as they grow. We will one day look back and miss that little hand reaching for ours. We will miss the times when they are jumping on us or yelling, picking up all the toys again for the millionth time in an hour. All these things we think that gets to us now we will miss in the end.

Let her play in the water and mud even fish or let him play with dolls, cook they are only small one time.

Kids didn't ask for us to have them and they didn't ask to be ruled over like a King or Queen over their country. They were gifted to us to love no matter how hard it can be at times they are beautiful gifts that should be loved for who they are and what they like. Yes, we need to keep them safe and away from harm not cause harm.

I remember going outside with my brother's matchbox cars digging roads in the backyard and playing for hours without a care in the world other then I hope he doesn't notice I took his cars without asking him. I also remember asking could I play football with him and his friends not knowing a thing about the game, but that didn't matter I was playing with my brother. It is small things like these times we don't think of when we let our kids play. I do understand when we were growing up times were a lot easier then they are today. This doesn't mean we have to be some kind of ruler of the house telling what will and won't happen. Let these babies be little as long as they can.

children
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.