Families logo

From Scraps to Happiness

The Art of Bestowing a Blessing for keeps

By Angie AllanbyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
8
My crafty scrappy mess of beautiful things

Well.

I sat with bits and pieces of all sorts of crafty off-cuts before me on the table. I fingered tiny beads and shells, ran my thumb over the smooth worn surface of a forest stream pebble, fiddled with the stem of a bark-less twig. Little left-overs from larger projects, each of these I loved, each one made me smile. Little glass bottles - nearly empty - filled a basket. Shiny, colourful variety all playing together here - surely, I asked, there must be something I can do with these?

No sooner was the question asked than the answer landed.

What is more appealing than a tiny bottle filled with bits and pieces of treasure? Nothing!

And what would be more appealing than a tiny bottle filled with bits and pieces of treasure, with a tiny blessing inside?

I clapped with joy, the solution was so perfect it was an art piece all on its own. So simple, so enjoyable and possibly the best gift ever (in my opinion).

Without waiting another moment, I ran to gather all of the extra bits I would need: paper, pen, ruler, scissors and wine :)

I opened each tiny bead bottle, tipped out their nearly-empty bellies and placed them in a line. And then the fun began.

Each bottle was gifted random pinches of different-coloured beads and a gift from earth - a tiny shell, a piece of smooth twig or a miniature gemstone. Next, I popped open what was left of my chrome and metal beads and trinkets - and into each bottle went a little metal charm.

Opening and closing all of my various pots and jars, sharing out the contents of some but not others, I was aware of nothing but the heartbeat of joy within me: the joy of creative discovery, of blending and selecting different materials to make up this little thing that already, I loved.

As I worked, deciding which bottles would take what, and what measures went where, the idea of the blessings was forming behind my mind. I thought a lot, emptied a bottle with a conflicting element, thought some more, and then began to clean up my atomic mess. The table was covered three layers deep in jars, pots, discarded bits and pieces of all sorts of forgotten scraps, but I needed clean space now to craft the next step.

Down to the bizness of composing blessings...

I cleaned and wiped the table down, refilled my (mysteriously) empty wine glass, and laid out a fresh piece of paper. Taking the glass bottle measurements, I ruled off rectangles of paper that I planned would scroll up to fit inside.

I had a full page of empty blocks, a freshly sharpened pencil and a few coloured pens just in case - time to write me some blessings!

“May health and happiness be your forever companions.”

“May you always find the thing that you desire most.”

“Peace be yours.”

“May your life be filled with love.”

“Let sunshine and peace fill your heart and life.”

“ May your life be a flower garden of beauty.”

“May health and prosperity be your close friends.”

“May this be your Best Year Yet - and even better to come.”

I filled the page with heartfelt blessings that I would be honoured to bestow upon my family, friends and myself. I wrote for a long time - each wish flying like a prayer from the core of my being to be enacted for the future recipient of THIS little bottle. Time stood still, it began to rain, I drank more wine…

The wine may be the reason that the blessings were rather wavy when cut. I cannot hold myself responsible for this feature, but the unexpected result was that each tiny slip of carefully cut paper took on the feature of a living scroll. Like waves upon a beach, the undulating top-and-bottom edges gently rolled and lent a physical energy to each indelibly scribed prayer.

I did, however, double-check the blades of my scissors - to be sure - but they were dependably straight. I admitted to me, my scissors and my table of delightful crafts-in-progress that this was a happy mistake, and I was going with it!

The next stage was rather tricky, involving the necessity of a snack break, after which I could see straight again. I snipped off bits of raffia and craft string - different colours and textures, scraps too short for anything, but kept in both the hope of just this kind of inspiration and a bit of sentiment, too. And I began the Great Scroll Roll.

Without further ado, I got to rolling tiny wavy blessings, winding a piece of string around each one and tying a half-knot to secure it. I soon had a palm full of powerful little scrolls, all ready to be popped into their tiny glass bottle homes.

Fifteen little glass bottles stood proudly bearing their eclectic treasures. I replaced caps and corks, and then onto the top of each lid, I squeezed a knob of glue and placed the finishing touch - a gem, a pebble, a shell or a charm.

Charming.

Blessing Bottles complete!

I left them all to dry, and to settle in with their new housemates. And I knew from the bottom of my nuggets that each special person who received these blessings would know love, and happiness, health, joy and beauty.

I know this because when I made them, these were the Guardians that kept me company that creative afternoon when I was deciding what to make with my scraps.

... and a special blessing for you. Whatever is inside is meant for you today :)

art
8

About the Creator

Angie Allanby

Lover of earth. Citizen of the world. Seeker of truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.