Families logo

FREE POPSICLES

~ It PAYS to be NICE ~

By Jay KantorPublished 2 years ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
3

FREE POPSICLES

Author © Jay Kantor

— For All the Michaels: It PAYS to be Nice —

While parking my SUV at the market’s pickup site, I noticed in the next space over a very slight woman wearing a crispy blue Ralphs-Guard uniform, with a gold badge/big gun and all. She was sitting on a store handicap electric shopping cart, bucking it back and forth, trying to take it back into the store.

The woman began yelling across at me just as the pickup-manager, Michael, approached to load me. “Do I know how to run this THING?” I wondered if she was asking me because she noticed that I might be 'Less-Abled'.

Therefore, of course, I SHOULD know how to work the 'THING' — Or, was it just a general shout-out? I just stepped past her and said, “why don’t you call a Security-Guard?” The GUARD pointed to her shiny gold badge and said, “I am a Security Guard!” …In passing, I said, “then call YOU!” Come-on, I know I was being snide, but it was just a spur of the moment response.

And, I PROBABLY would have helped her until Michael came to rescue her. What a good sport. It was 100+ degrees in the parking lot and Mike just handled it; probably thought she’d shoot him if he didn’t? Nah!

As Michael loaded the groceries into my boot he said, “Mr. K, I know you’re one of those Veg-e-Tarians but, wow, you get a lot of peas.” I told him, “I don’t believe that it is within your job description to inspect my food orders!”

He Quipped: “So call The GUARD!” I responded to the retailer’s review request after my purchase (we all get them sent to us) with a nice note. No response at all, even after sending a follow-up to them. You’d think that a 'nice' note would not be as prevalent as complaint letters that companies mostly receive; I don’t know?

So, I finally sent the letter directly to the 'Big-Guy' (verbatim/below) then printed it out and gave it to Michael so he could see what it entailed. Seriously, Michael created a smoothly-run and efficient entity separate from the everyday operation 'nicely' along with his terrific ‘tude! This shouldn’t go unnoticed! And, I thought 'Corp' should know about it! He got promoted to the position of store-manager (3) days later!

Michael texted me: “On behalf of my wife and son, thank you for being so nice — FREE Popsicles for LIFE!”

* Unlike our generation’s time-table: Michael is (30) with a college degree and still lives with his folks; along with his wife and young son. And, OH SURE, I’m happy for him! But, who’s going to 'spoil' me now in the parking lot!?

I’ll just call The GUARD!

ACTUAL Letter to Ralphs Market:

Mr. Q, District Manager, Ralphs (Kroger) Markets Re: Grocery Pickups at the Chatsworth, Cal. Store

Mr. Q, I would just like to take a moment to express appreciation and to say how accommodating and professional your pickup staff is at the Devonshire street location. What a treat to be spoiling us with this special service! Now designated spaces are even permanently painted in bright yellow; especially considerate for Seniors!

Thank You for That! But, an extra shout-out to Michael, the pickup-manager. He keeps things running smoothly, even when it’s (100+) in the parking lot!

* We once lived on the canal in Long Beach. And, there was a little market called 'Henry’s' where we would quick-visit daily. We really didn’t even need our own fridge; the 'neighborhood' market! When your pickup manager calls me just to let me know that my “sugar-free-popsicles are back in stock,” it reminds me of an old-fashioned “neighborhood” market; very appreciated!

Ralphs, a NICE way to do business

Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, Cal

Golden-Rule: Be NICE to the folks on the way up/they might be the same ones you meet on the way down! What could it hurt !?

Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, Cal

'Senior' Vocal Author

For our Kids Someday

grandparents
3

About the Creator

Jay Kantor

Retired: Write for "The Kids Someday"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor (Author)10 months ago

    Doc ~ We can't change what we don't acknowledge ~ But so many things on the Social Agendas' of late that most don't stop to 'Smell' the "Popsicles" *I'm a bit old fashion! You Think? What's fun about THIS Scribblers 'Power of the Pen' Biz: *True Story: Kroger, at the time, was promoting their car pickup Schtick heavily with adds during Covid issues. So, they brought out a huge 'Sugar Free Cake' and a 'Ralphs' Cap and the 'The Boss' offered me a job in their advertising department/and asked if they could use the 'Silly' story in their promotions. Who wudda thought? Told them I was so flattered but you may direct your prospective customers to the VM site that is publically open/notorious, for all to share, if they wish to read it. Sorry to blab, 'D'...but it's so meaningful that when we reach out a bit; how lovely the feelings are when they reach back - For Instance: I am just over the top with the reaction from my (3) minute silly-story "Rescue" how that brought so much attention to their dedicated cause with so-so many 'Re-Homes'...Doc, that's a nice feeling? So, I'll just "Pop" out for now! Chum, Jay

  • Doc Sherwood10 months ago

    I like this very much too. It's a great reminder of how businesses should be run, taking me back to the old days when (for example) toys were made by businesses rather than conglomerates. Back then, if there was something wrong with a toy you received for your birthday, your dad wrote a letter and you'd usually get one back from a "Michael," together with a replacement toy and free stuff! Try that today in the age of the market monopoly, where no-one has to bother about taking responsibility anymore. So I heartily agree with Jay - here's to the Michaels, they're the ones keeping the world going round!

  • Janet Carpenter12 months ago

    I do like this story! I'm always so amazed when I ask to "speak to the manager" and it's to extend a compliment for the great customer service I received from "So-and-so". Everyone involved looks so shocked...expecting a complaint. Nothing can replace the smiles of those that get thanked for doing a thankless job. Hmmmm...never got any popsicles out of it, though! Ha!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.