Families logo

Frankly speaking

Take 3

By Francisco DiazPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Old pic. Somewhere in Coastal Texas.

For some reason when I try to type in a lowercase Ñ the page goes backwards. That story will have to wait I guess. What to write about huh?

I got about 1000 pages of journals and 7 or 8 unfinished movie, Sci-Fi, animated, and comic book scripts. This will be welcome motivation.

9-21-2020

1:38 am

This might be a good one for Vocal.

Its late and I can’t sleep. So like Stephen King, the famous insomniac, I write. Already finished reading four books this weekend. No really: Hells Angel’s, How to be Anonymous on the Internet, Buddhism Plain and Simple, and The Mothman Prophecies. So I started Communion but I got tired of reading. The paranormal classic about alien abductions not actual Holy Communion. I don’t think I’ve been to church since my mom insisted we attend on New Year’s Eve while vacationing in Mexico City. I also started rereading The Venom Doc…and my Voyager Gold Record came with a book I am also working on. And I just got a book on basic hacking skills as well. So, I’m keeping busy.

I came to the grim realization today that the Gen Xer’s are in their 40’s and 50’s. The cool older kids we looked up to growing up. And that feeling lasts your whole life. You always look up to the cool older kids and cousins, just like you’re always gonna be daddy’s little girl. I’m 38. I’m a Xennial. The first of the millennials. One hand on a game controller and the other filled with bugs we found outside. A lot of my older cousins are Gen-Xers…though the more Mexican ones may not actually follow that generational distinction. They have better social skills and lived harder while a lot of Millenials were turning out autistic or emotionally stunted.

My mom once asked me if she was a baby boomer. I told her she was the right age for it…but technically the baby boomers were the children of WW2 vets who were eager to consummate with their wives and girlfriends as soon as they had returned…hence a boom of babies was born. I don’t think my Mexican Agricultural Engineer grandfather went to WW2. I think the Mexican Revolution was happening at the time. Actually no, that was 1910-1920. During WW1 and the Spanish Flu. Mexico is different. It’s still like the 1800’s in most places. The 1800’s with cell phones. If you visit you will end up seeing a lot of churches…for history. But we also have pyramids and ancient death cults. So Mexico is very metal as well.

I remember when I was at UT Austin there was this artist who gave a talk…a thin tall older man with a big white beard. Shiny tight leather pants. A Burgundy top. Larry something…he claimed he didn’t believe in generations that it was an artificial construct. Probably true. He did street art…but it looked like he would paste up typographical words in certain cities in certain places. Like word paintings but the context was important. He also said something that made some of the feminist teachers cringe…something like, “It’s nice to date a girl who reads, cuz then you can talk about books after you have sex with them.” I think he was from New York and this statement kind of illustrated how Austin always thinks of itself as progressive but often still has conservative hang-ups about sex and what not. Whether its dressed as feminism or not. At a party back in the day, this girl from Portland came up to us and said, “I like Austin but it’s so conservative.” And I thought, Really? It’s probably the most progressive city in Texas besides some pockets in Houston and Dallas. The Rio Grande Valley is sort of progressive because we are mostly Mexican…or Mexicans who think they’re white like me. Though apparently if you speak too proudly about being Mexican you will be destroyed…even in a so-called progressive city like Austin. I learned that the hard way. But more on that later.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Francisco Diaz

That's an old pic. I'm way older and fatter now. Getting back to writing. Maybe I'll get those Sci-Fi stories finished now eh? Plus I got about 1000 pages of journal entries I'll upload for your entertainment.

Hooah!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.