Families logo

Forgiveness is an Act of Consciousness

Love never dies.

By Michelle ZubekPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Has it every occurred to you that you would fall in love and marry someone outside your religion/ethnicity? Let me tell you a little story about myself. My name is Michelle, I am 22 years old I was born and raised in Chicago, IL. I was raised in an old-fashioned European lifestyle where respect is everything especially in the Polish culture. I live an average life, a perfect family and a toy poodle named Mia. Everything sounds good right? Wrong have you ever felt like you have everything but yet you're still unhappy. People always telling you what to do because they want you to be successful and not struggle like they did in life to get where they are? It was killing me inside, it led to altercations that didn't need to happen, it led to hatred between parents and siblings. It made me feel like I was always the bad guy because I felt trapped. You felt unheard of. So one day your friend gave you an opportunity to let yourself be you, let yourself be free and do what you want to do, so you move to another state.

Hello LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS! The state where pimps and prostitutes are right around every corner and they argue about fried chicken everyday. Sadly thats where I met my wonderful husband. When my husband caught my eye, I went to my friends restaurant that he recently opened and he was one of the workers there. He was arguing with someone on the phone. He had a deep broad voice you couldn't miss. As my friend is introducing me to his staff he forgets to mention one person (my husband). I ask my friend who that particular guy is and he comes up to me apologizes, introduces himself while kissing my hand. The way his big brown eyes and beautiful smile started glowing, I knew he was the one when our eyes locked that very first day. From that day on we went on a couple dates, and then he asked me to move in with him. When we moved in together things started getting serious between us, our love was unconditional. I never thought that I would fall in love with an Arabic man. I always thought that I would have a traditional Polish wedding with a guy from Poland. I introduce my husband to my family and they automatically fall in love with him. They like him but to a certain extent. When my husband mentioned taking my hand and going overseas to visit, my family instantly became hesitant. They disagreed with him and a little conflict came between my family and him. My mother till this day is begging me not go overseas to Palestine because their religion is not as ours. But the crazy thing is I was raised a Catholic but was always confused by the different testaments and why its always changed. When it came to religion my husband explained to me, clearly explained to me, and I converted to Muslim but my family doesn't know. I love my husband dearly and I want to not only find peace with god but within myself and my family. I am yet to tell my family to support my decision due to the fact that I might get disowned.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.