Families logo

For my beloved dog

My best friend

By Pame MolinaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

My mother, my brother, and I decided to go to the mountainous part of Santiago. It is a beautiful place full of green areas, rivers are very close to the snow. While my brother was driving, at one point, my mother asked my brother to park the car at a Chilean restaurant. She wants to buy some pine empanadas, the most traditional in Chile. It was lunchtime, so the three of us ate empanadas and drank sodas. When I finished eating lunch, I heard the voice of a puppy, I decided to get out of the car, and when I look at the ground, I see a small brown puppy with white paws. When I looked at it, I thought what a beautiful little dog I tried to take it. But he won't let me and started running, he went into the business and hid under some boxes, my brother and I decided to get closer to the owners. We told them how beautiful the puppy seemed to us, and we asked him how old he was. The owners answered us the puppy is only a few months old, we come here to give it away, but if nobody wants it, we will leave it here, and maybe someone will pick it up. We already have too many dogs, and we can't have any more in the house. As we chatted, I see that in a second, the dog starts running very fast, almost like a rabbit, almost as if they understood that they were going to give it away, I start running behind the dog, and when it stopped for a few seconds, I took it in my arms. I walked back to the car. At that moment, my brother takes him in his arms, opens the car window, and throws him into the car, saying, don't tell Mom that we were listening to music on the way back home. The puppy starts barking. It was at that moment that my brother and I decided to confess. My mom what we did she was very angry with the idea. After convincing her for a few seconds, she decided that we could adopt the dog. She has never been a lover of animals, which is why it cost her a little to accept the idea. She only gets but with the condition that we had to take him immediately to the veterinarian and take care of him. Still, on the way home, I asked them and what name we would give him.

My mom says, let's call him Jack even though I never had pets. I don't know why, but a long time ago, a dog with that same name always visited me, and I don't know why, but I always liked him, and I was very fond of him, or we could call him Tom like the caricature, but I noticed that she was female. My mother, angrier, says is she a female? Let's now take her to the veterinarian to clear our doubts. The vet confirmed all of our suspicions. She was a female, so we decided to change her name and call her just a girl. We take the opportunity to give them injections and see if there was nothing wrong with the dog.

When we got home, we showed the dog to my stepfather. He was not very happy either, he likes animals but not to keep them as pets, in the end, the girl always listened to him more than me, the girl grew up with us, she was a quiet dog who always played with us, she liked to play soccer, She would take the ball with her mouth and run away, She wanted to be chased. She would always sit next to me and look at me for hours. When I used to have the door to my room open, she would run up the stairs. She started kissing me and languishing everywhere when I walked. She always accompanied me. When I came back from studying, she ran to greet me and jumped towards me.

I could always feel her love for me. Sometimes she just sat at the foot of my bed for hours. I liked her company. However, sometimes she kissed me too much, she was very docile, you could take her as you wanted. She was always trying to get in the car when an Uber came to pick me up. She loved to run away from us, so we could chase her. I could never catch her., Couldn't see her. When I called her, she never paid me too much attention. We always gave the girl practically human food. She used to eat everything I ate. She had her dog food. Still, she never liked it. If I ate pizza, fruits or drank yogurt, she did too.

The funniest thing is that the girl was afraid of water. Sometimes when I would go to the pool and put my hand in the pool water and call out to her, she would run and hide under the trees, and she wouldn't move until I got away from the water. She was always happy and very calm, but she was always afraid of large breed dogs when she used to see one of them, her legs were shaking, and she hides her tail between her legs. Over time, he lost his fear and managed to have two Labrador friends, one brown and one black, Every time they saw each other, they played together. I always believed that one of them was her secret boyfriend when she saw him. she would start crying, so we'd let her play with her friend and her tail moved very fast everywhere. We can never tell her, no. We all loved her very much. In 2019, a lump appeared on her breast when we took her to the clinic. They told us it was a lipoma and that with a surgical extraction, there would be no problems, we removed the lipoma, and she was in perfect condition. She was in an excellent mood as always, and she kept jumping on me every time she saw me the last time I saw her was Before I came to live here in the United States, which was in May 2019. one day she just couldn't take it anymore. It was all very abrupt. She just closed her eyes and never woke up again. She lived for 17 years. Sadly, she passed away in 2020. The sad thing is that I no longer live in Chile, so I never had the opportunity to say goodbye to her, but I will never forget her, and I will love her forever.

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Pame Molina

Hello Iam and actress and yoga teacher that sometimes like to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.